How to control the memory consumption of Firefox ?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Ashanta, May 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Hi guys,

    I've FF 20.0.1 installed on my laptop (on Vista Business) and once I visited a site with pictures and/or videos. FF became freezing all the time and my laptop by consequence. I had 550-650 Mb of memory loaded by FF.

    Is there a way to limit this excessive memory consumption ??

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    Well, there's a lot that could be an issue here, but as far as how much memory FF uses up, there isn't a lot you can do about it except for going easy on the addons. Firefox has a continuing bad habit of not letting go of memory.
     
  3. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I always find firefox gets ram hungry when opening another tab.When 2nd tab is closed firefox tends to keep the ram used.

    I could suggest using something like cleanmem or some other ram optimizer but i consider these apps sometimes make things worse.
     
  4. Heimdall

    Heimdall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    176
    Can't say I've ever really have any major issues with firefox memory.

    Although I have the release version installed, I tend to use Nightly as my default. However, both have the same 28 addons and 2 plugins installed. Resource wise, they are quite similar, averaging around 300/350MB, even on very heavy content sites.

    If you want to try and troubleshoot your problem, type about:memory into the address bar and select Measure. To make things a little easier, you could also try

    about: addons - memory

    It's a lot more limited than using about:memory but it may provide some insight.
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833

    Attached Files:

    • cal.png
      cal.png
      File size:
      21.3 KB
      Views:
      465
  6. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    you could also control javascripts with NoScript or other ways.

    40% of a user surfing bandwidth is gobbled up by advertising and tracking sludge.

    and all of that stuff gobbles up resources like crazy.
     
  7. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Nice find.
    Looks a good addon.
    I have not read all the information on this but i notice the corporate office for this is in salford,manchester and im guessing comodo are involved with this in some way.

    Should be quite a strong product with comodo ssl and im wondering if this uses the same technology which is in comodo dragon browser.

    Thanks for this.
     
  8. Heimdall

    Heimdall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    176
    Salford covers a large area...
     
  9. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    Indeed it is.
    But salford and ssl validation spring only one company to mind for me and that is comodo.
     
  10. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
    No problem with Firefox (or even IE10, which consumes even more memory) if your computer has at least 4GB RAM, which should be the minimum nowadays.
     
  11. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    Do you have extensions, anti-virus software, etc?
    Mrk
     
  12. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    I will try calomel SSL Validation to see what's will happening, thanks CloneRanger

    I already tried Cleanmem and others ram optimizers with not strong change.

    I have Disconnect and ABP plus add-ons and even RefPolicy. I think the main culprit is flashplayer along with FF.

    I only have Privatefirewall and AppGuard installed on my laptop.
     
  13. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    AFP is almost everytime the cause behind high memory usage, and fyi it's not only in FF. And it has been like this for a long time now, and it only seems to get worse with each release of Flash, more noticeable on older and low-end machines of course.
     
  14. The Red Moon

    The Red Moon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Posts:
    3,872
    I disable the flashplayer in an unsandboxed firefox and then run in sandboxie and enable when required.

    Not entirely certain if this is beneficial in terms of cpu use etc.
     
  15. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    AMIGA500 & Ashanta

    Hope you like it as much as me :)
     
  16. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    659
    Location:
    Europe
    Trying Calomel at this time, nice features ! Too early to make the point.

    Anyway, I will uninstall and reinstall a previous of FP. ;)

    If you have an idea about the version of Flash Player which is stable, let me know please. :)
     
  17. Fad

    Fad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Posts:
    378
    Location:
    England
    I think the Salford reference on the Calomel page is just referring to the example they`re describing, Calomel appear to be in Baltimore going by the Google+ link on there. :thumb:
     
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I would love to do that too, but I won't due to all the vulnerabilities that exists in the older versions. So I will continue to update AFP and use the latest version.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.