How to Configure for On-Demand ONLY?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by capatt, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. capatt

    capatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    84
    Hello
    This may come as sacrilege to some, but I'd like to use NOD32 EAV for on-demand scanning/cleaning only. I don't want it to load with windows or run continuously. I'll use another product for that.

    Thanks!
     
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    why not just use there online scanner then.
     
  3. Gerix

    Gerix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    I agree with this. I want the option to load/unload NOD32 av on-demand - there is just one way, ie. uninstalling the app.
     
  4. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Hey Gerix, hang on - you don't have to uninstall your NOD32 due to this limitation. Follow the following 9 steps:-

    1. Left click 'start'
    2. Click 'Run'
    3. Type 'MSConfig' in the open field and click 'OK'
    4. Click the 'startup' tab
    5. Uncheck 'egui'
    6. Click 'Apply' and then 'Close'
    7. Restart your system immediately when prompted to after saving all your open jobs
    8. When Windows loads up you will be prompted again by the System Configuration Tool - check the box; "Don't show this message or launch the the configuration tool when Windows restarts"
    9. Click 'OK'

    Now, whenever you need to carry out an On-Demand scan, just launch NOD32 from your start--->All Programs--->ESET--->ESET NOD32 Antivirus :cool:
     
  5. capatt

    capatt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    84
    Just one problem with that approach. The AV service continues to run in the background, right? All you're doing is stopping the UI from loading on startup, not the engine - that continues to run. If you want to install say, another AV program, this approach won't work.
     
  6. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    It's not recommended to have 2 AV programs installed at any one given time. However, to answer your query, can you please go through the following procedure and report back:-
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.