how to build a secure/private notebook

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by prnoid_ntrepreneur, Feb 10, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prnoid_ntrepreneur

prnoid_ntrepreneur Registered Member

hi people im new to the forum my name's tony. basically, im not a tech savvy dude (not compared to alot of you anyway) but i am studying to become an investigative journalist. i never considered privacy/security a big issue a while back to be honest but this past year ive really opened my mind on just how dangerous it is on the web and in cyber space.

ive done a quite a bit of research on the topic of privacy and anonymity but its so technical and confusing. ive kind of narrowed down what i need to do but i need some help. basically ive got a few questions that if anybody can help with it would be appreciated and would also serve as an archive of some sort for anybody asking the same thing. in advance i apologize if these questions have been asked and answer before.

1. so i understand that the best setup is tor in conjunction with a good vpn but what actually is a great secure vpn that is trusted by the privacy crowd and has a good record as well as a reasonable price?

2. how do you actually use the vpn and tor together. is it ok for general safe browsing to use the tor browser bundle with a vpn and how would that actually be setup.

3. is the tor browser automaticaly configured to not leak your ip address through scripts and flash etc and fight device fingerprinting?

4. is the tor browser automatically configured to use guard nodes for the first node?

5. how do you pay for a vpn client anonymously?

6. im a pc guy but i was given a macbook air through a scholarship. do i need to install some aftermarket firewall to be able to block ports and block functions that would help privacy or does the standard mac osx firewall handle those things?