How to block HTML5 video? (Firefox + ABP)

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rasheed187, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  2. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,975
    Location:
    Brasil
    NoScript, or RequestPolicy. Or Both, sometimes one misses and the other hits the target ;)
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Isn't it possible to use ABP for this? I wonder how to make it click to play. For some reason it starts to auto-play after a minute or so. And I also wonder if it's possible to load the homepage straight away.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
  5. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I don't know anything about ABP. I tried a couple of different scenarios.

    In Fx with NoScript 'allow scripts globally' and uBlock origin static filters* only -- the vid is blocked.

    In Chromium with uBlock origin with the same static filters + advanced mode but only 3rd party frames blocked -- the vid is blocked.

    [*default origin static filters (blocking mode = easy)+ malware domains (long lived) and MVPS hosts.]
     
  6. Techwiz

    Techwiz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Posts:
    539
    Location:
    United States
    Not sure if you've done this yet, but in the about:config, search autoplay, locate: media.autoplay.enabled; set false
     
  7. Alhaitham

    Alhaitham Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Posts:
    173
    Location:
    Egypt
    NoScript can make HTML5 video/audio click-to-play.
     
  8. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    1,628
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Thanks for verifying guys, might be able to do it with uBlock Origin, but too lazy to fine tune without breaking sites.
     
  10. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    SW USA
    Having embraced the Trash Flash movement about two years ago, I just accepted HTML5 for what it is and tried a few tricks and extensions with disappointing results.

    I read about Flash Control last year and installed v1.1.3.1 and stuck with it. It's now up to v2.0.1 and it works great. Most of the issues in the update-needed Q & A have been addressed. Currently using in Cyberfox64 v4.0.0.3 Portable, Windows 8.1.

    Rasheed, I know you're going to dislike it and you won't be using it, but I thought I'd post up for others.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/flash-control/
     
  11. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    there are HTML5 entries in about:config. I haven't tweaked any of them because I use HTML5, but you can probably disable them there.

    Or at least the settings are there in the version I use (27.0.1)... who knows if they still exist now, with less & less control over options with each passing version since 28.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Are you kidding me, this was exactly what I was looking for, nice find. :thumb:

    The only thing that I did notice is that the video doesn't start when I click on the button.

    I've tried to do it, but it didn't work.
     
  13. haakon

    haakon Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Posts:
    752
    Location:
    SW USA
    Thanks! I was sort of kidding. You're not easily appeased. ;)

    If you're meaning the orange V+ button, my experience is that it only releases the block. Once you click it. if the HTML5 video doesn't normally start by itself, you need to start it - usually a red button in the middle or that little play triangle in the lower left. It all depends on the Webmaster's strategy. I've even seen custom control popups and toolbars for play, pause, settings, etc.

    I actually didn't mind the presence of an HTML5 video on a site, but the autoplay every one seems to like was the reason I looked for and found Flash Control.
     
  14. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    With ABP and/or it's EHH I think all you could do is block the video altogether. I can't imagine how to get that to create a click to play.

    There is a FF addon - "Youtube ALL HTML5" for those that are satisfied with only Youtube click to play control. I used it for months and it works great. I actually just recently uninstalled it since Youtube added native HTML5 control, but now this autoplay crap is bugging me too. I didn't realize there was like absolutely no other way to prevent it. If I did I'd have never uninstalled it.

    Agree with someone else that this crap is what sent me scurrying for Flash Block all those years ago...
     
  15. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
  16. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It seems that it depends on the website. On some sites it doesn't work correctly. Not a big deal though. But I still wonder why NoScript doesn't offer this feature.

    To clarify, at first I wanted to completely block it.
     
  17. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    With the latest version of Firefox 41.0, videos on Youtube loads in the html5 player but does not start autoplaying anymore. As I already had "media.autoplay.enabled" set to False before updating Firefox to the latest version I assume something changed in the latest version and that this works as intended now.
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,928
    Location:
    U.S.A.
Loading...