How to backup and recover my computer using Acronis True Image

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by nagaya, Apr 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nagaya

nagaya Registered Member

I have recently purchased Acronis True Image 10.0 Home.

I am quite new to this software and have a question.

I wanted to try how True Image backups the data and how efficiently restores it back. For test run, I made a backup of a folder having some jpeg files.

I will name the Original folder as "A" and Backup folder as "B".

After taking up the backup I went back to "A" added a couple of JPEG files and deleted one file which existed before.

Now I started True Image and recovered my data from "B" to "A".

After the recovery, the file which I deleted from the "A" came back BUT the couple of JPEG files which I added after taking the backup were also present.

Now suppose I make a backup copy of my entire system (My computer) and some virus come in my system and I want to restore the system in a healthy state in which it was earlier, I wont be able to do it. Because the virus which will be a new entry in the system will continue to live (like the couple of JPEG files added in the folder "A") and only the files which were backed up will be restored.

My question is, how can I make a backup of my computer, so if my computer is infected with a virus, I can use Acronis recover my computer in healthy state it was and without the new entries added by any virus.

Any help is appreciated.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

I don't ever use Acronis True Image to backup merely files and folders so I don't know why you found what you did. But I have seen someone else say the same thing.