How secure would you rate this security setup?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by shadowcastpm, Dec 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shadowcastpm

    shadowcastpm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Hi, I am trying my best I create a secure and convienient setup for my computer system.

    All of my current software work perfectly in conjunction with one another and they are all pretty light on memory / CPU usage.

    I would be greatfull if anyone knows of any security issues (e.g. other software) that might be nessasery.

    As I am on x64, I'll be the first to admit that if I was on x86, the amount of software would be considerably lower, but in this case
    I would like a rock solid security setup.

    Thanks in advance :)

    Computer Details
    Windows XP x64 SP2 (Windows Server 2003)

    Antimalware Protection
    Avira AntiVir Premium Pro
    Avast! Professional
    Comodo BoClean
    PrevX 2 (Soon)

    Firewall / HIPS
    Comodo Firewall Pro (+HIPS) (Custom ruleset for firewall and HIPS)
    Network Packet Analyzer Pro

    System Monitoring
    System Explorer
    WinPatrol
    Even Log Explorer
    MJ Registry Watcher
    System Protect
    Moo0 System Monitor

    Sandbox / Virtualization
    Sandboxie
    Return Nill Pro

    Extra Security
    Opera (Primary) - (IE disabled)
    Firefox (Secondary)
    "Elite Proxy / SSL Connection" i.e. all traffic to and from my computer is secure and "anonymous".
    Lock My PC (FSPro Labs)
    KeyScrambler
    Anti Keylogger Elite
    Secunia PSI

    Privacy
    Privacy Eraser Pro

    Cryptography
    TrueCrypt (Twofish)

    Extra / Tweaks
    Limited User Account
    XP AntiSpy
    Seconfig XP
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
  2. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    So we gonna have rate my security poll's from now on?
     
  3. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Looks like you're in a very secure unit :rolleyes:
     
  4. shadowcastpm

    shadowcastpm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    No, just overly cautious, nothing wrong with that.

    I assume you use IE, Windows Firewall etc.

    FAG.

    Stay Green ++===============
     
  5. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,874
    Location:
    New England
    No, that's not really what we use the poll feature here on the forum. Giving a 1 to 10 rating on a security setup that is that complex is basically worthless. Poll deleted.
     
  6. idbit

    idbit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Florida
    He called you a cigarette!
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I don't know about that. He forgot to include the kitchen sink.;)
     
  8. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    His comment was sandboxed...;)
     
  9. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    I would remove one of the AV's. Running two is asking for trouble. In fact, I'm surprised the second one installed at all.
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Secure from what?
    A user deciding to ruin his machine? A worm? A mail attachment you want to open no matter what? A browser exploit?
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.