How much space needed for backup image?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tadoussac, Apr 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tadoussac

Tadoussac Registered Member

I am a noob, testing Acronis TI10.

I have a 100GB SATA drive on my laptop, and it's approx. 35% full (35GB of data). I want to create a complete backup image using TI 10, and store it on an external drive (it's a mounted NDAS drive - connected to my network router).

How large will the backed-up image be ... 100GB or 35GB? I only have about 70GB available on the external NDAS drive, and don't want to over-write or damage the data that is already on it.

Any advice, or words of caution would be appreciated.

Thanks !
    -iminj

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Normally you would get about 60% of the original used space, so of 35Gb the Image should be 21Gb if you use the default compression level. But if the majority of that data consists of music and video (which are already in a compressed format) you Image size would be greater.

3. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

TI only images "in-use" sectors. Therefore setting the backup option to "Normal" compression, and assuming you don't have too many multimedia files e.g. .jpg, .mpg, .vob, etc. (these are already heavily compressed) in that 35GB, you will probably end up with an image file of around 24GB.

Regards

Oops! Sorry DwnNdrty, seems you type much faster than me. :D

4. Long View

Long View Registered Member

I agree the amount of space needed will be 35 gig compressed.

Have you thought about partitioning ? There are advantages to have having C: for your operating system and programs and F: for your data. If for some reason you want or need to restore your OS and programs you can do this without destroying your data. Only having one partition make life more difficult.

5. DwnNdrty

Don't have to be, Menorcaman ... at least our figures are "close enough for government work". :D :D