How many processes are running on your Windows Vista machine?

Discussion in 'polls' started by xMarkx, Dec 6, 2008.

?

How many processes do you have running on your WINDOWS VISTA machine?

  1. Less than 20

    6 vote(s)
    7.7%
  2. 20-30

    6 vote(s)
    7.7%
  3. 30-40

    11 vote(s)
    14.1%
  4. 40-50

    9 vote(s)
    11.5%
  5. 50-60

    17 vote(s)
    21.8%
  6. 60-70

    10 vote(s)
    12.8%
  7. 70-80

    8 vote(s)
    10.3%
  8. 80-90

    5 vote(s)
    6.4%
  9. 90 or more

    6 vote(s)
    7.7%
  1. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    How many processes do you have running on your Windows Vista machine?

    I have between 80-90.

    How many do you have?

    Why do I have so many?

    I have a Dell XPS 420. Does this come with a lot of preloaded software or something?
     
  2. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I Have 55 processes on Vista Home premium.
     
  3. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Really? Wow!

    I have between 80-90.

    How did you manage to get yours to 55?

    Do you see all 55 processes in your Task Manager window under Processes or just some of them?
     
  4. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I Have HP is was pretty bloated with not needed software I removed it execpt a few things i Wanted to keep.I only see about 23 processes running in taks manager.If you want to see all processes running click processes for all user,you will be prompt from UAC to elevate priv and allow,then check you process window you should see all.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2008
  5. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Currently 56 processes. I would also check, what aplications run after startup, because aplications just love to start at boot. :rolleyes:
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    In a word, "yes". Most off the shelf PCs come preloaded with run at start-up software. What you need, do not need, disable from start-up on boot, completely uninstall has to be left up to you and your needs, use.

    sorry, do not have any store bought PCs or run vista so really can not help beyond that.
     
  7. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Home built, Vista Home Premium with 64 processes.
     
  8. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    50, but that includes TaskManager, so really 49
     
  9. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    How do I do this?
    Thanks.
     
  10. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Running 65 for now ;)
     
  11. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Is your PC homebuilt or did you by it from Dell, HP etc?

    Does it have a lot of software on it?
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    57 genrally with all my genral programs running. that includes karens replicator which is only used once a day and the two processes for windowblinds.
    around 60 when i use virtualbox.

    to see all processes i use process explorer
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2008
  13. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    You're using F-Secure and you have 57 processes? That's pretty good. F-Secure is a big program.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I have 54 here on Vista x64, fresh install off the CD, not factory installation.
     
  15. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    What antivirus are you using? Have you installed any other software besides a possible antivirus and possible windows updates?
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey,
    im using Kaspersky atm,uses 2 processes.
    I test f-secure sometimes.

    btw for your dell machine you may wanna use this
    PC Decrapifier it removes the trial software that comes with dell machines.
    just tick want you want to uninstall and you will soon reduce the amount of processes running.
     
  17. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I have 35 running processes on my dell m1730 running vista ultimate 64-bit.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    Thanks for the SS. 35 processes is really low IMO!

    I noticed you have multiple "svchost.exe" running. I do as well. How many "svchost.exe" are normal to have?

    What antivirus are you using?
     
  19. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Just had a look at a standard vista ultimate 64-bit install and it appears theres 14 svchost.exe processes running. I'm not sure if 32-bit vista is the same as 64-bit in regards to the number of running processes.

    I don't run a realtime antivirus on this particular system just antivir personal on demand.
     
  20. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply. I use NOD32.
     
  21. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Lean, mean and clean! :D
    TM.JPG
     
  22. xMarkx

    xMarkx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    447
    Hi,

    Whoah! How did you manage to get only 28 processes on your Vista machine? What antivirus, computer manufactuor, other software do you have?

    I used to have between 80-90 when I had McAfee. After removing McAfee and installing ESET NOD32 I now usually have 75-80 processes running. * I have a Dell which may have a lot of unnecessary software on it but... I don't think that there would be 80 processes running even with the Dell junk on it as my Windows XP Dell system has only 40 processes...
     
  23. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Only security behind a hardware firewall is Sandboxie and Returnil and I build my own PC's.

    All services, which I deem useless services are turned off, including windows updates which always seem to slow things down if allowed to update.

    Ghosted back to before the updates and I'm staying that way for both my XP pro with some SP2 updates and Vista ultimate as none of MS security updates can make me any more secure, well at least I see it that way anyways.

    Superfetching service is left on Auto but set to not start in the registry as that way I retain prefetching which is controlled by the superfetch service.

    Get's rid of the initial lag when superfetch used to kick in after desktop came up.

    Just a matter of trial and error really and of course those ghost images have come in handy on a few occassions.
     
  24. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,442
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    68, with 6 to 12% CPU useage and 34% physical memory.
     
  25. SIR****TMG

    SIR****TMG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    757
    I have 80 to 90
     
Loading...