how many PCs per license?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by pykko, Jun 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Perhaps this has been posted before but this information slips from my mind currently. :D
    How many PCs in the same home can use a single NOD32 AV license?
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    One PC per license. You can, however, use NOD32 on multiple operating systems on one PC, provided the operating systems are within the scope of the license (e.g. Dualbooted Windows)
     
  3. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    that's bad... F-Prot was giving the posibility to use 5 PCs. :(
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I don't know what to say :doubt:

    NOD32 does offer family pack discounts for up to 3 PCs, but its much higher compared to that of an F-Prot license.

    Even Kaspersky allows for installation on 2 computers if you purchase any 6.0 version product of theirs, not to mention BitDefender (2 PCs), BullGuard (3 PCs) and Defender Pro (3 PCs).

    As a product, NOD32 is great, but their licensing deals are slightly stingy. But still, NOD32 has good value for money, because you get total malware protection for your money.
     
  5. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    firecat,

    these rules hit power-users like you harder than most.

    I know... it doesn't help - but them's the rules!
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Although NOD32 is allowed to be used only on 1 machine , I would like to say that here in Bulgaria NOD32 is the cheapest AV software (except from F-prot allowing it to be run on 5 machines) :D
     
  7. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Is this now official?
     
  8. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    I have not seen that. Are you sure, Firecat? If so it has changed very recently, and since I have a 2 year license I am interested in the facts of it.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Please, search on the KAV forums for it, Most likely Don Pelotas will be able to answer for sure. I'm not sure myself, but I read *somewhere* this policy is official now. But this is the NOD32 forum, we don't want to get the thread closed. :doubt:
     
  10. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    Question posted on KAV forum.
    Jerry
     
  11. JimIT

    JimIT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,035
    Location:
    Denton, Texas
    Compared to who? Symantec? Trend? McAfee?

    Please.
     
  12. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I said "slightly" stingy. :)

    McAfee, Norton = VERY stingy licensing deals

    Trend Micro is about the same as NOD32 in my view (OK, maybe a bit more stingy). And did I not say NOD32 offers good value for money? :)
     
  13. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Maybe Marcos can tell us if this is still the licence agreement that is in effect?
     
  14. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    200
    Here is what the Kaspersky license says. It looks like you are not allowed to load it on two computers.

    -quote

    1. License Grant. Subject to the payment of the applicable license fees, and subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, Kaspersky Lab hereby grants you the non-exclusive, non-transferable right to use one copy of the specified version of the Software and the accompanying documentation (the "Documentation") for the term of this Agreement solely for your own internal business purposes. You may install one copy of the Software on one computer.

    - end quote
     
  15. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    That's the norm.
     
  16. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    He doesn't have to. This is a quote from the standard email you receieve when you purchase a license.

    As you can see the license is on a per computer basis.
     
  17. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I already agree with that.

    What I was thinking was that under the licence agreement I posted earlier it may be possible to use one NOD32 licence on multiple virtual PC's since they all run on one CPU... but, I can see elsewhere that the main licence agreement is different to this and will post it soon.

    Cheers :)
     
  18. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    Hmm - Im sure this must be covered in EULA. I imagine per Windows Installation. If you have multiple VM's - each of these 'VM' in essence has a CPU of their own even if it's not a Physical CPU ie. an emulated one it's still a CPU.
     
  19. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    As I said...
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.