How many licenses are required?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by grun93, Jun 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grun93

    grun93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    My computer has a x64 cpu. Because I have some old soft- and hardware for which no 64bits drivers are available (i.e. Canon scanners), I like to reinstall Windows XP x86 (32bits), together with the OS that I use most, which is Windows 7 x64.

    So, I want a dualboot pc with WinXP x86 and Win7 x64. Both OS's run on the same pc but never at the same time. I know that NOD32 AV 4.x is available in 32bit and 64bit versions, of course the 32bit version will run when XP is active and the 64bit version when Win7 is active. How many licenses are required in this situation?
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    According to the licensing FAQ you only need one.

     
  3. grun93

    grun93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Thanks for the fast response. I guess I missed the FAQ, couldn't find the answer anyway. ;)
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You're most welcome for the fast reply. Does this answer your query ?

     
  5. grun93

    grun93 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Absolutely, thanks.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Excellent, would not want a licensing issue preventing you from getting on with your day. :thumb:

     
  7. MOM2009

    MOM2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    and what about windows xp mode in windows 7?
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the same, I think, only 1 licence required
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Since XP Mode works within the Win 7 OS, I would think yes - check with ESET.

     
  10. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    But am i correct that running something like XP Pro in Sun Virtual Machine under Windows 7 requires 2 licenses? If so, what's the difference between Sun VM and XP Mode...

    Interestingly i tried an experiment to see how easy it was to get XP with no AV infected with a fake AV. Everytime i tried NOD32 kept detecting the viruses running under XP in the VM and removing them even though it was Windows 7 that had NOD32 installed and the Win XP VM had no AV...
     
  11. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    As a guess: You need an separate MS licence to run MS OS within Oracle VM or Wmware while XP mode is already licenced under Win7
     
  12. PaulB2005

    PaulB2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Posts:
    525
    Yes. I have a separate license for XP Pro.

    Sorry i wasn't clear. I meant, i am running Windows 7 Home Premium with my licensed copy of NOD32 AV. If i install Sun VM and install XP Pro (legal license from MS etc.) into that do i need another license from ESET to install NOD32 into that, or can i use the same license again?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.