How Many Browsers On One Computer?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ProTruckDriver, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. ProTruckDriver

    ProTruckDriver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    Posts:
    769
    Location:
    "Here on Wilders"
    I often wondered,
    1. How many Browsers can you put on one computer?
    2. Are there any conflicts with putting many browsers on one computer?
     
  2. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    There aren't, I've had them ALL installed at one point for testing all at the same time. Not one issue.

    I have a policy for myself though, it's called the 1 program policy, basically what I mean, is that I install only 1 program for the purpose I need. Like 1 browser, 1 media player, 1 program for office files (MS Office), 1 download manager, 1 torrent client.

    So I test and make sure I've installed the best, it's always easier that way, to have one good program that does all the stuff you need for the intended purpose. That way, less maintenance and updating headaches and less quirks.
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I have my default browser which is Firefox, and a second, Chrome. I keep Chrome in case a web site won't load for instance, so I can determine if it's the web site or the browser that's screwing up.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    You can have 50,000 if you want, or as many as disk space will allow. Have fun.... :)
     
  5. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,083
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I have got two, IE for HTTPS and Chromium for HTTP browsing (enforced by Firewall). EMET checks certificate paths and before doing on-line stuff I allways check with SSLEye
     
  6. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    8,030
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    I only have Firefox and Chromium on Ubuntu. Maxthon, Chrome and Dolphin on Android. On Windows I have Maxthon, Firefox, Chrome x64, SeaMonkey and IE (although I never actually use IE).
     
  7. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,134
    Location:
    USA
    My main browser is chrome. I also use Firefox portable
     
  8. noone_particular

    noone_particular Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    3,798
    I don't know if it's possible that any of the Gecko browsers would interact or interfere with each other. I haven't seen it. I had 3 for some time. Dropped that to 2, one of which doesn't see much use.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Chrome only. IE sometimes as there are some websites (hard to believe) which won't open properly with Chrome.
     
  10. constantine76

    constantine76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    178
    Same method here. I keep other browsers to have a glimpse if the site I am having trouble with visiting is down or the browser itself is the culprit. I keep Dragon (portable), Iron(portable), Opera(portable), Cyberfox(portable), Firefox, Chrome, Maxthon(portable).
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Different versions of the same browser, especially Internet Explorer, tends to be incompatible.
     
  12. FOXP2

    FOXP2 Guest

    I've got seven different browsers. Except for IE, they're all portable, so no issues. I only use Cyberfox64 and Chrome and the latter only for the rare instances I need Pepper Flash to absolutely have to watch some video that's streamed out with 90's tech. (I dumped Adobe early last year. If it's not in HTML5, I don't need to see it.) The other four non-IE browsers aren't used and I should delete them, except I bought a TB drive so I don't have to delete stuff. And I just can't bring myself to delete my all time favorite and the very bestest that ever was browser, OffByOne.
     
  13. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    Australia
    I have two. Chrome and IE. Chrome for pretty much everything. IE for BF4 BattleLog, as it does not play nice with Chrome.
     
  14. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    Yes. I had with Opera. Never problems with two or more different browsers.
     
  15. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,016
    Firefox (Primary) and IE.
     
  16. Banzi

    Banzi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    Posts:
    368
    Location:
    Scotland
    I have Chrome installed as my default browser for most surfing, Firefox with noscript for certain sites, Opera webkit as a backup browser. I use Win 8.1 & that comes with IE but I never use that. Installing different browsers shouldn't cause any issues.
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I have 3 installed at the moment and no issue.
     
  18. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    3 right now.
     
  19. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    It doesn't matter how many browsers you have got installed but how many browsers do you use at once. It could cause some CPU and/or RAM issues especially when video/flash plugins are used by several browsers at one time.
     
  20. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I prefer to install as few programs as possible. Since Firefox functions perfectly for me, its the only browser that I install in my computers. By only having Firefox and IE in the computers, maintaining the browsers is easy. And conflicts between browsers is avoided.

    Bo
     
  21. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
    Firefox and I.E.8 (only Microsoft updates)
     
  22. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,087
    1. There's no limit on number of browsers you can put on your system.
    2. I didn't hear about any conflicts between different browsers. I can see potential problem if different browser would use same folder for user profile data, but didn't hear about such clash yet.
     
  23. KeyPer4Life

    KeyPer4Life Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    974
    I limit the number of browsers installed on my system. Currently only 2. If I want to try another browser then I'll install it inside Sandboxie and if that doesn't work I could run virtualized system for testing browser also.
    I also have in mind reducing the attack surface and protecting browsers as much as possible with security/privacy settings.
     
  24. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I have a total of 10 installed. 4 are different versions of Opera, 9, 10, 12.17 and 24. Of the 10, only 3 get used daily, Firefox, Opera 9 and Opera 12. Seamonkey and Opera blink get some use. A couple are leftovers from a few years ago, Safari for Windows and Slim Browser which uses and depends on IE dlls while not being IE.

    The only problem I've ever had with different versions of Opera on the same computer is between 11 and 12. I can run 9, 12 and 24 simultaneously with no problems other than using up system memory.

    I tend to follow the one application for one purpose approach for everything but browsers. There are just too many incompatibilities and the web is too vast and diverse to be covered by one browser.
     
  25. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    To avoid conflicts between browsers, I run them all in a separate sandbox, that is the cool thing about Sandboxie's "application virtualization" ability. I run several versions of the newest Firefox and Opera 12, some I use only for extension testing.
     
Loading...