How long since you last used windows?

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by x942, Nov 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. x942

x942 Guest

I have to say this is the first time I have stayed with linux for more than two months. Normally something always pulls me back (or I break my install and just install windows instead).

When was the last time you installed or used windows (or mac) at home?

2. atomomega

atomomega Registered Member

Since I'm a linux noob, I go back and forth whenever I have to get things done fast... :D

3. wilbertnl

wilbertnl Registered Member

Fascinating enough, we have some Apple hardware (iPods and Airport Extreme router) that require Windows applications for maintenance.

4. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

It's been about 30 minutes. None of my physical machines run Windows. Most run Ubuntu. But I need some Windows-only software with no suitable Linux equivalent, and run that on VMs. I've used both OpenOffice and LibreOffice Calc, and neither can replace Excel 2007. They only use one core. They behave unpredictably with large and/or complicated workbooks.

5. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

I'm on Windows right now ...
    Mrk

6. mack_guy911

mack_guy911 Registered Member

i went to windows last 2-3 month back hardly remember...............just to update my windows system/softwares like new firefox chrome......vlc ......etc ;)

i have dual boot linux + windows so if one linux breaks i switch to another one

my main linux used to be scinetific linux which hardly breaks have only once problem nvidia new drivers which i roll back

i guess what breaks linux is bad QA frequent too much update without QA(Quality assurance) checks and our own R&D (research and destroyment) :D

7. Trespasser

Trespasser Registered Member