How long does it take?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by jjocsak, Jul 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jjocsak

    jjocsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    How long is an incremental backup suppose to take? According to the TI Notification it took 10 1/2 hrs. That's ridiculous. I am backing up about 60gig of data on a 200gig drive and this was just the incremental backup. See the log file below.

    What am I doing wrong?

    1 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:03 AM The "Drive C Image" operation started
    2 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:04 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    3 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:05 AM Analyzing partition E:...
    4 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:05 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    5 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:06 AM Analyzing partition C:...
    6 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:06 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    7 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:06 AM Analyzing partition D:...
    8 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:06 AM Analyzing partition 0-0...
    9 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:07 AM Analyzing partition M:...
    10 Warning! 7/1/2007 1:00:07 AM Priority changed to High priority
    11 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:07 AM Bootable Media creation is started.
    12 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:07 AM Bootable Media creation succeeded.
    13 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:07 AM Analyzing partition C:...
    14 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:08 AM Create Incremental Backup Archive From: Disk 2 To: M:\Backups\ Compression: Normal
    15 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:10 AM Pending operation 128 started: "Saving partition structure"
    16 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:10 AM Pending operation 131 started: "Creating partition image"
    17 Information 7/1/2007 1:00:10 AM Locking partition C:...
    18 Information 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM Check for 'number of backups' rule violation is started. Set number: 6
    19 Warning! 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM 'Number of backups' rule violation is detected. Maximum allowed: 6 Current number: 7
    20 Warning! 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM There is no action available to take against the limit violation. Limit rule: by backup count. By default, the 'delete' action will be used.
    21 Information 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM Trying to fix limit violation: by backup count.
    22 Information 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM Deletion is started. Rule: by backup count Number of backup will be deleted: 1
    23 Information 7/1/2007 1:03:32 AM Backup deletion Location: atis:folder?file:M:\Backups\ Number of backups: 1
    24 Information 7/1/2007 5:38:34 AM
    25 Information 7/1/2007 5:46:50 AM
    26 Information 7/1/2007 6:04:49 AM
    27 Information 7/1/2007 6:13:08 AM
    28 Information 7/1/2007 6:32:16 AM
    29 Information 7/1/2007 6:37:03 AM Completed successfully
    30 Information 7/1/2007 6:37:03 AM Deletion complete.
    31 Information 7/1/2007 6:37:03 AM Backup Archive Validation Location: M:\Backups\
    32 Information 7/1/2007 6:37:03 AM Pending operation 3 started: "Verifying backup archive"
    33 Information 7/1/2007 11:33:42 AM Operation has succeeded.

    Jeff
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    What build of TI 10 are you using?
    What OS are you using (XP, Vista, etc.)?

    Where is the Backup Location located (internal drive, USB 2 external, NAS or Network share)?

    TI reached the backup limit and had to consolidate. That can take a long time: 1:03:32am to 6:37:03am. Then it did a verify and that took about 5 hours.

    How big is the total "collection" of .tibs? (The full backup and all the incrementals?)

    If it's an internal drive or USB 2, you should get between 1 - 3 GBs per minute. If your total was size was 60+60=120GB then it should be around 40 mins. to 2 hours to verify.
     
  3. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Jeff,

    The backup " Locations" facility appears to have been designed for ease of set up rather than speed. There are two very time intensive processes over which the user has no control .

    When some preset limits are met a "consolidation" process takes place to in effect create another base image. This compared even to creating a manual base image is a very slow process. Validation is another extreme time waster. This is because ALL differentials or increments are validated along will ALL base images that are in the special backup location.

    Both these short comings have been pointed out to Acronis on numerous occasions. The multiple validations problem has existed in the secure zone for years and has now been carried forward into the Backup Locations facility.

    There are several ways and combinations of ways you could use to work around these problems till Acronis get round to sorting out the inefficiences .

    I only use full backup images stored on a second backup hard drive. This is not a "Backup Location". It is large enough for the number of images I need. It is possible to manage these images using the Acronis scheduler. There is a lot of expertise to be found here as to how to set up schedules to rotate a combination of full and diffs or increments so that there is no log jam.
    Once outside the constraints of "Backup Locations", or for that matter the secure zone , validations can be run for individual base images or or base plus its own diffs/increments.
    My own approach to validations is more radical because I use the secure zone to manage my backups. I do not run validations . Instead I rotate my main hard drive and restore a current image to " Yesterday's" HDD. This method of restoring before a breakdown is much more effective than running a validation. It suits me very well and I always have at least one ready to roll spare hard drive.

    Xpilot
     
  4. jjocsak

    jjocsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Mudcrab, I'm using XP Pro with Acronis® True Image Home® version 10.0 (build 4,942). I use a backup location on a separate HD that I use exclusively for this purpose. It is a 250Gig drive so there is plenty of space.

    I also noticed with the latest backup all my previous incrementals are now all dated the same. What's that all about?

    See the image below for the contents of my backup location.

    http://JJOCSAK.smugmug.com/photos/168697775-L.jpg

    Jeff


     
  5. jjocsak

    jjocsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Thanks for that detailed explanation. A backup should not be so complicated. I may just turn the validation process of to see what that does to the time.

    Jeff




     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jjocsak,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that when Acronis Backup Location limits are exceeded, oldest full backup will be consolidated with the oldest incremental(or differential) backup, if possible. Please be aware that consolidation is a complex process. The time to consolidate a full backup with consequent incremental(differential) may be same or more than creation of the full.

    Regarding the validation of all backups in Acronis Backup Location, please be aware that this issue is already known. We have already received similar requests from other Acronis customers and they have already been forwarded to our Development Team. It will be fixed in the future builds of Acronis True Image 10.0 Home. Please accept our apologies for the current inconvenience.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I hope you will make the consolidation process optional so that users can turn it off if it does not suit their requirements.

    Xpilot
     
  8. jjocsak

    jjocsak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    So are you saying that 10 1/2 hrs. is normal considering the data that I have given you?

    Jeff



     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello jjocsak and everyone interested,

    Please note that depending on the computer specifications (CPU, memory, hard drive interface (IDE, SATA, SCISI), etc) consolidation process may take different time. Thus, image consolidation and validation time you provided in the very first post is possible.

    Xpilot, thank you for the suggestion. We will definitely take it into consideration.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  10. treaclle

    treaclle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Any news on the development of the next build after 4942? I've run into the same problem now and it's quite frustrating! Is it still going ahead even after the release of v11? I really hope it is!

    Thanks guys,
    Alex =)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.