How long does it take you to restore a full W7 Image?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheMozart, May 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thank you zfactor :) :thumb:

    I will move my TrueCrypt folder from C: to D: as it's 10GB in size.

    So what are my exact steps?

    1. Create Truecrypt folder in D:\ ?

    2. Then MOVE all data from C:\Program Files\Truecrypt into D:\Truecrypt

    3. Then type Junction "C:\Program Files\Truecrypt" "D:\Truecrypt" -s

    4. Then reboot windows?

    Will do same for Electronic Arts folder which is 2.8GB.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2012
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    that should work, not sure how it will work with truecrypt. i would guess it would be okay but have never tried to relocate a truecrypt folder. i would copy the folder to a external or to a temp (d:truecrypttemp for example) so you have a copy just in case that you can move back to c:. then go ahead and try the junction. if it doesnt work you can easily remove the junction.

    edit: i know your ea folder will be fine.. no problem moving that one
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,827
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'd create a folder in D: called Program Files. Move the C:\Program Files\Truecrypt to D:\Program Files so C:\Program Files\Truecrypt no longer exists.

    Then from an Admin Command Prompt...

    junction.exe "C:\Program Files\Truecrypt" "D:\Program Files\Truecrypt" -s

    When you now look in C:\Program Files it will appear that the Truecrypt folder has been re-created, but it doesn't take up any space. A reboot shouldn't be needed.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2012
  4. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Brian, you know what I did, I just copied C:\TrueCrypt to D:\Truecrypt, deleted C:\TrueCrypt and then created a shortcut to Desktop from C:\TrueCrypt\truecrypt.exe

    That's all I needed to do. Not sure why I never did that before, it never dawned onto me until we all started talking about this. So there was no need for Junction with C:\TrueCrypt :D But that's because it's a Truecrypt container and not a program that was ever installed.

    So my C: just went from 36Gb to 26GB in a few minutes :argh:

    But I will try your suggestion with Electron Arts folder as that's taking up 2.8GB.
     
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,827
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Excellent.
     
  6. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    :D

    Thank you Brian, it's thanks to you that I even began thinking about this.

    But I am also thinking about installing W7 from scratch, because most of what I run are portableapps on the Truecrypt container which is now on D:

    If I reinstall W7 from scratch, if I want to install any programs, can I install them into D:\Program Files instead of on C:? Do ALL programs allow me to do that and will they ALL work like that? If so that would be great cause then I would only ever have a base W7 to backup and restore:)
     
  7. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Around 3-4 mins on my SSD. That's only the Windows Image with all updates.
     
  8. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I can't wait for SSD to come down in prices. They are currently around $300 for 120GB in my area.:'(
     
  9. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,827
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Most apps can be installed into the D: drive. But not all.

    Even if you install an app into the D: drive, some files may be installed into C:\Users\ C:\ProgramData etc. As well as into the Registry. So for backup you have to consider the C: drive as well as the D: drive.

    The above doesn't apply to portable apps.
     
  10. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    But Brian, installing programs into D: should save a lot of space on C: even if some files are installed into C:\ProgramData and Registry, right?

    And if I want to restore an image, I can just install the C: image, and it should work as normal loading programs on D:, right? Or am I missing something?
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,827
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Correct.

    Correct.
     
  12. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thanks Brian. :thumb:
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    sorry for being away all day i couldnt get to a computer to answer anything but im glad you got it sorted out.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.