How is Tenebril Anti-spyware?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by tempnexus, Jan 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tempnexus

tempnexus Registered Member

They say that the tool creates dummy files in order to prevent re-installation. I wonder how good is this anti-spyware when compared to the likes of Giant/MS.

2. spyaccess

spyaccess Registered Member

3. whatever

whatever Registered Member

i would rate spycatcher as a good back up anti-spyware program, but be careful when running it with other anti spyware programs (webroot's spysweeper does not like anything tenebril,the registery keys tenebril uses are the same as some spyware registery keys. the reason for this i do not know,but i think it might be it is making the computer seem like it has spyware to keep the spyware from infesting your system..this is a guess i am not a expert.) get the full version of ghostsurf 2005 it is a anonymizer/browsercleaner(makes your ip address hidden when surfing but not your e-mail address if you send email. in addition some web sites will not work using it or you will get a timed out error because the signal your computer sent has to go around the planet once or twice.:) ) it's the one with spycatcher and ghostsurf in the same package. if you use the older ghostsurf 2.1 use it only for it's anonymizer program,the anti-spyware program thats in 2.1 does not update or can be manualy updated and is very very out of date and somtimes corrupts the spycatcher definitions when spycatcher updates. and just plain ghostsurf 2005 without spycatcher you have less features.in the test that is quoted below spycatcher was not fully tested...i would use it in addition to spybot with spywareblaster and ad-aware or giant or spysweeper.

Last edited: Jan 28, 2005
  4. Infinity

Infinity Registered Member

http://spywarewarrior.com/asw-test-results-4.htm

You can find more info on the asw test by Eric L. Howes.