how is panda antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by moonlight_786, Jul 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. does it has a good detection rate
     
  2. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    On-demand detection of zoo malware is very good.

    It is classified as Advanced+, which is on par with the likes of KAV and McAfee.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have used Panda through several versions and if your computer can take the resource hit it is a good av with good detection.
     
  4. Simon Phoenix

    Simon Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    It's awesome but very resource consuming.
     
  5. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    <edited>
     
  6. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have been using Panda for about 3 years now.
    It has very nice detection, only once did a worm manage to get through.

    However, if I did not buy a new version of their software, the 'old' version would start to run really really slow. This has happend twice so far and I can't understand why. Just to scan 1 file, it took about 2 minutes before the scan actually started..

    So I finally thought 'no way not again' and bought NOD.
    You can't imagine how much faster my pc is, it's crazy - So I'm quite happy with my purchase ;)

    So to wrap it up
    1. Good detection
    2. Quite the memory hog
    3. The 'slowdown' could happen to you too
     
  7. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Is the upgrade from one version to another free? Can I upgrade Panda Titanium 2004 to 2005 without paying (if my license has not yet expired)?
     
  8. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    No it's not free. Either you buy it or you have to wait for the 2006 version to be released before you can get the 2005 version.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.