How is Norton 2007?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Coolio10, Dec 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I have read everywhere that users are still calling norton bloated and problem-filled but i would like a real security expert's oppinion.
    I have tried norton 2008 and believe it is up there with kaspersky and eset. But sadly my isp is always a version behind and offers norton 2007. I am wondering if anyone is still using it. I am sure by now if norton has had all this time for fixing the 2007 version it should be fixed up as much as possible.

    Some specifications would be nice to eg. mem usage, cpu usage.

    This is a quiete weak computer because for some odd reason it only came with 448mb of ram even though the box listed 512mb ram.
     
  2. dNor

    dNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    Just FYI, 512 - 448 = 64, which is most likely the size of your integrated video processor's memory consumption. A dedicated card would solve that.
     
  3. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Well that solves 1 question :D
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I have used Norton 2007 on an older PC (1 gig cpu PIII with 512 ram), and it runs fine, I would have to call it just a little "heavy" for that PC though. They really improved things in general with the 2007 version, and I understand 2008 is good as well. I don't have specific ram usage stats, but it's much better than 2006 was. I think you would be happy with it but just keep in mind that it's a slight bit heavy for the older PCs. Some of the others are much lighter (for example, Avira, Nod32 etc).
     
  5. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    in comparison to the rest of the suites available, its pretty darn light.
     
  6. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Anytime you see "shared memory" when speaking of RAM in the specs of a computer that is what it means, a certain amount of RAM is reserved for video. This is usually the case on lower end computers.

    NIS 2007 was the one that got me back to using Norton again after swearing off it 3 years ago. It normally runs 5 processes (where '08 runs 4) and just a tad slower feeling than '08. It got 98.8% on IBK's August On-Demand comparatives (I am curious to see how '08 will fare in February).
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    mine isnt really a lower end computer, and it does it on my laptop.

    1918mb ram here. :blink:

    lol, cheap ass ati onboard graphics.
     
  8. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    I forgot about laptops but that was because I have never owned one, lol (7 desktops from '87 to now). I like desktops better because I like to tinker with upgrades and such and you can't do a whole lot of that on a laptop.
     
  9. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    true, but you cant chill out in bed the same with a PC :cool:
     
  10. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    :p Good point, lol

    But I get close with my reclining high back simulated leather desk chair with a foot stool under the desk :D

    I have to sit like this since I hurt my back a few years ago. I cannot sit up for long periods of time so I have to recline when I sit.

    So let me amend my previous statement, most lower end desktops use shared RAM :)
     
  11. guch

    guch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Des plaines
    I had Norton 2008 security suite, but it takes over your computer. Took it off have Comcast cable they give you McAfee security suite 112.00 value free so took it. Slower scans but works good.
     
  12. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    its suprising that you prefer the resources of mcafee over norton. :blink:
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    I had trouble with McAfee, it ate too much cpu on my PC. Norton however did quite well in performance for me.....
     
  14. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Hi,

    Is NIS 08 lighter than other Security Suites (KIS 7 or FIS 08, TMIS 0:cool: ?
     
  15. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    I believe resources are rather relative. KIS runs better on my machine an NIS '08 will run better on another. Every PC is another machine
     
  16. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    436
    Right now I am using KIS 7 and my laptop is slightly slower.



     
  17. goldengeek

    goldengeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    KIS 7.0 is much better .....if you are looking for a standalone AntiSpyware
    I love Systweak AntiSpyware....Extremely light for my Laptop with 256 MB RAM ..
     
  18. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Laptops don't?
     
  19. dNor

    dNor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    212
    Location:
    Irvine, CA, USA
    A lot of laptops do use shared, yes.
     
  20. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Wher is that stated in the specs? Looking at buying laptop want non shared
     
  21. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    just look for one that mentions something like geforce in the specs, this WONT be onboard shared.
     
  22. david banner

    david banner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Posts:
    576
    Nice one didn't know that:)
     
  23. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i think... anyway. :)

    the specs should mention shared memory / onboard graphics.

    if it doesnt, simply look up some specs for the graphics mentioned, and look for the words shared/onboard to see if it is.

    or better still, if you still aint sure, post a message on wilders (in the right section of course) for advise on a laptop you may have found :D

    im sure someone will post you your help.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.