how install torsocks 2.1

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by vhois, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    From README.md:
    Code:
    ...
    $ ./configure
    $ make
    $ sudo make install
    
    If you are compiling it from the git repository, run ./autogen.sh before the
    configure script.
    ...
     
  3. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    I have just installed it and copy torsocks.conf from package to /etc/tor/, modify Tor port to 9150, then try it in the command line,

    $torsocks konqueror www.whatsmyip.org

    The Tor SOCKS proxy assumes running at 127.0.0.1 on port 9150 so that the traffic will tunnel through Tor Browser Bundle, why is it the IP address connecting to the webserver comming from my location?
     
  4. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    Just let torsocks use its default port 9050. SocksPort 9150 is a Tor browser thing.
     
  5. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    But other applications work with 9150 well. Do you say Torsocks doesn't work with TBB Tor client, or Torsocks sends traffic to the clearnet if Tor is down?
     
  6. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    What I know is that installing the Debian torsocks package just works, without any custom configuration. Doing "torsocks wget ipchicken.com" and looking at the resulting index.html, I see Tor exits. Even building, I don't believe that you need to configure the SocksPort. It's setup by default to use Tor.
     
  7. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Strange. Long time ago, Tor client in the Browser Bundle had changed its listening port to 9150, standalone Tor is 9050. For now I removed /etc/tor, so torsocks would use it's default configure settings, but the problem is still remain and connecting to the Internet without going through Tor network.
     
  8. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Does anybody there know why?
     
  9. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Do you install the standalone Tor or you install from repository? The document saying the torsocks is work with the daemon, what torsocks work with?
     
  10. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    Torsocks uses Tor SocksPort 9050. Tor browser uses SocksPort 9150. That's intentional, I've read, so that Tor browser doesn't interfere with standalone Tor. That doesn't entirely make sense to me, but hey ;)

    If you're using Tor browser, you could just add SocksPort 9050. But Tor browser doesn't use /etc/tor/torrc for configuration. For the US English version, it's
    Code:
    /home/user/tor-browser_en-US/Browser/TorBrowser/Data/Tor/torrc-defaults
     
  11. vhois

    vhois Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    &man torsocks

    "...
    By default, torsocks will assume that it should connect to the Tor SOCKS proxy running at 127.0.0.1 on port 9050 being the defaults of the Tor daemon.
    ..."

    Do I have to run standalone Tor as daemon?
    Your torrc doesn't provide the line for TBB or Tor runing as daemon, is that right?
     
  12. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    If you're using Tor browser, just add the line "SocksPort 9050" to that torrc-defaults file that I pointed to. Then the tor instance that Tor browser runs will provide both SocksPort 9150 for the browser, and SocksPort 9050 for torsocks. But you'll need to have Tor browser running in order to use torsocks.

    Also, there's a lot more to a safe Tor setup than torsocks. DNS leaks are a huge risk.

    Why not just use the Whonix gateway and workstation VMs in VirtualBox?
     
Loading...