How good is Ewido Security Suite?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by c0ltran3, Apr 13, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. c0ltran3

c0ltran3 Registered Member

I've been using Ewido Security Suite for about six months and I'm quite unsatisfied. This program revealed no trojans; on the contrary my antiviruses (especially BitDefender and NAV) revealed some.
    What's your experiences about Ewido?

2. spy1

spy1 Registered Member

Well, of the ones detected by your A/V's , perhaps what was detected weren't actually Trojans as defined by EWIDO. (A/V's are notorious for naming things "trojans" that aren't, actually).

On the other hand, since ESS is a work-in-progress, perhaps whatever your A/V's found simply hasn't been added to the DB yet.

Did you take the time to submit them to Peter at EWIDO? I've found him to be courteous and timely in his answers to questions and quite prompt to add things that need added, when he gets them. Pete

3. rodsoto

rodsoto Registered Member

I use ESS as a backup to TDS-3, Im not dissatisfied with ESS, its a fairly new program, and has great potential. Im just annoyed that I can't scan my archives, my trojan library are all compressed, So i can't test ESS's functionality in that regard. What were the trojans that your AV's picked up on? Were they the standard RATs or other?

4. Slovak

Slovak Registered Member

So far I have not had any recent problems with it, and it is all I use for trojan related cleaning that KAV doesn't do. I have only had one false positive, which doesn't matter to me because I always send the file off to make sure before deleting it anyway.

5. dvk01

dvk01 Global Moderator

it doesn't find as much as TDS or KAV but I do send as many to ewido as I remember to to include in their databases
    the problem is that it doesn't detect in compressed (zipped) files which is how I get most of mine as samples