How does TI handle disk errors?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ErinLine, Jul 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ErinLine

    ErinLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Hey guys, this question is pursuant to another thread I started here earlier today.

    I'm creating a TI boot disk using BartPE with the instructions found in this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=162424&highlight=rescue

    My question is, does TI have some sort of "continue copying even if errors occur" option built in, or will it stall out if it runs over a bad block, file, etc. Thanks for any help offered.
    -erin
     
  2. ErinLine

    ErinLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    bump for the morning :)
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
  4. ErinLine

    ErinLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Ah, MudCrab, thanks. My laziness is exposed for all, the search function was my friend after all :) Thank you for pulling me back into reality. Those threads, and a few others I found, answered my question perfectly. Thank you for the reply!
     
  5. ErinLine

    ErinLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Actually, this spawns one more question :) Will I be able to select a bypass errors option or similar activity via BartPE with the Acronis plugin. The thread about BartPE states that ATI has a more limited functionality than the "full version under windows". Will I still be okay?
    Thanks!
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I would think you'd still be okay. I think all the basic functions work with the Acronis TI plugin. If you want or need access to more functions then you'll need to build your BartPE cd using mustang's plugins.

    If TI is showing bad sector read errors, I usually run chkdsk /r on the drive before trying to back it up again. However, if the drive is going bad, I would suggest copying off all important files before doing either as the more you work with a failing drive the more likely it is to develop more bad sectors or perhaps die completely.
     
  7. ErinLine

    ErinLine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    20
    Again, great reply MudCrab, thanks! I'll look at the Mustang plugin (which I hope is linked from his BartPE thread that I've been using). I've copied all important files off of the drive in question and at this point am just trying to re-create the drive on a working disk so that I can file the old, busted drive away. I plan on doing a chkdsk /R on both partitions the moment before I attempt the clone. It will be the last time I hopefully ever have to use the drive (I'll use the clone from here on out).

    Thank you for the great information!
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    mustang is no longer supporting his plugins. You can download the ones I have here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.