How does TI handle bad sectors when cloning?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by XIII, Mar 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    I've made a backup (clone on an external identical drive) of a disk that's revealing several bad sectors. I've restored it (cloned it from the external drive) on a brand new identical drive which now has bad sectors as well...

    How does TI handle bad sectors when cloning?

    Is there any chance I have cloned a bad sector map or something like that? So I have some kind of "false positive"? Or should I RMA the new drive as well?

    (can I recalculate such a map?)
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    It is a false positive.

    Making a clone or a full image will report bad sectors on the new drive just like they were on the old one.

    They can be made to go away by re-performing the restoration with a small amount of resizing of the partition/s during the restore.
    My choice would be to create a full disk image of the source drive and then restore it to the new drive partition by partition. Doing it this way allows resizing to be done. A few MB is all that is needed.

    Xpilot
     
  3. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Is this true even if a tool like HDtune complains?

    (I'm not sure how low-level that tool is)
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    Use my suggestion and find out. I have no need for and have never used HD tune.

    Xpilot
     
  5. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Unfortunately, I already thoroughly cleaned the source drive with Acronis DriveCleanser because I am going to RMA it.

    So I only have the external (backup) drive and the new internal drive, both containing the "false positive" (if I understand it correctly) bad sectors.

    Will your procedure still work then? (I do not completely understand what part is essential; the formatting?)

    Will resizing the partition with DD10 after restore also help?
     
  6. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Without the resizing, ATI is going to restore a map the same as it picked up form the source disk. With the resizing, it "checks" out where to put things and so notes actual bad/good sectors.
     
  7. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Windows now longer boots on the (restored) new drive. BSOD 0x00000024 with first parameter 0x00190203; so a NTFS filesystem error...

    Seems like there might be a real problem on that drive as well?! Grrr...

    Unfortunately this is not my system, but a remote one, so I'm rather limited at what to do until I take a trip to it.
     
  8. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image

    XIII, you can try to perform check disk on the new hard drive, also, you can try to defragment it.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  9. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    I let the owner perform a chkdsk (with repairs) from a Windows PE like disk and now he is able to use the PC again.

    I'm still worried about the bad sectors though, but that is something I'd rather let not him investigate himself, so it'll stay open until my next trip to him.
     
  10. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    If it's Vista or WinPE (based on Vista), you can run chkdsk with the new /b option to make it re-evaluate bad clusters on the partition.
    Code:
    chkdsk c: /b
    Note that /r is implied when you use the /b option (the entire partition will be scanned).
     
  11. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    452
    Cool tip! Did not know about that... Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.