How does FD-ISR work ?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by Defenestration, Oct 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    I realize that for each snapshot, FD-ISR creates a folder in C:\$ISR using zero-based index of the snapshot number for it's name (ie. "0" for snapshot 1, "1" for snapshot 2, and so on).

    When you boot into a snapshot other than the currently active one, does FD-ISR just copy/delete any files which are different in the new snapshot to the system partiton (ie. WINDOWS folder, "Documents and Settings" folder etc) aside from ones that are anchored ?

    OR does it perform some jiggery pokery and actually boot into the snapshot folder itself (eg. "1"), using files rom within this folder to run windows ?

    I'm asking because I want to know if it will affect defragmentation software from working properly ?
     
  2. starfish_001

    starfish_001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Posts:
    1,041
    I don't know how it works - but I think that it uses permissions in a very complex way to hide and unhide files ... but I don't know. I guess the compressed snapshots are stored using ntfs compression.


    As for defrag - Raxco's perfect disk works very well. Raxco have a FAQ that details excluding some files. Other defag sw should work fine if it can exclude files

    File to exclude is c:\$isr\0\$ISRBIN
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Echo that
    Beyond the debate that defragging does much for the average user, for lots of installs, uninstalls and config changes for any software testers or addicts:
    PD handles the FDISR files v.well. Others can get stuck.
    Sysinternals: Contig.exe also good.

    Moving the FDISR data can cause the odd short-circuit.
    The FDISR files do not need to be "defragged" as such.
    As image files they do not cause issues.
    Trying to "defrag" a ~10G file will cause hang-ups.

    This is even more relevant with the compressed files in the latest FDISR.

    Raxco have special deals with PD/FDISR bundles.
    No problems for me yet.
    The PD is also a good "stand alone" defrag utility.

    Regards
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Defenestration

    Each snapshot is a separate set of files. When you leave any snapshot and come back to it, it should be exactly as you left it unless you update it from another snapshot. Then it will be exactly like the one you updated it from. If you are in snapshot one, and look at your system and program files they are from snapshot one. If you boot to snapshot two, then everything you are looking at is from snapshot two. The "jiggery pokery" occurs at boot when FDISR boots from one to the other. It does some stuff like flushing the cache, I know it also writes something to the MFT, etc. But all this is for snapshot switching. Once in a snapshot it's regular windows.

    As to defragging, it is fine. Everything is defragged. If you use Raxco's Perfect DISK it is seamless. PD know's the one FDISR file to exclude. If you defrag and don't exclude this file, there is no real harm done. One first reboot you won't see the preboot screen. But then FDISR files the file it needs automatically, and after that on reboot the preboot screen will be there.

    Pete
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    What about windows built in defrag?
     
  6. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    AFAIK, you can't exclude in Windows Defragger. Open it and look for exclusions.
    All MS Applications are a disaster compared with third party softwares.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So if u isntall FDISR u can,t defrag with built in defrag?
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    According Peter it doesn't matter, so you can use Windows Defragger.
     
  9. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    A long time ago Raxco tech support told me that, yes, you can use the Windows built-in defragger, since then I have have done so many times without any problems.

    Acadia
     
  10. Defenestration

    Defenestration Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    1,086
    Hi Pete,

    This is the bit of info I was after as to how it works. :)

    D
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Eric and Acadia, Thanks for the replies.
     
  12. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    ooppss, sorry missed the early part of the question. doh :oops:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.