How does Acronis work with RAID

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Hollywood0728, Oct 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hollywood0728

    Hollywood0728 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    How does acronis work with RAID?? I have a hardware RAID 5.
     
  2. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Are you asking whether TI works on a RAID 5 system, or how does it's algorithm work in implementing a RAID image?


    Colin
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    What version of TI are you asking about? TI 11 currently does not work with most Intel RAID configurations (Nvidia RAIDs seem to work). TI 10 currently has better overall RAID support.

    If TI does work with your hardware RAID setup then it will treat it as a regular drive (just like a single drive). I've tested it many times on RAID 0 and RAID 1 setups (never on RAID 5, though).
     
  4. NumLock

    NumLock Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    223
    If your using ATI 9.1, then it fully supports any level of hardware RAID may it be 0,1,0+1,5,etc. since it is configured in the hardware level and acronis still sees it as one logical drive and can be backed up.

    FYI 9.1 can also backup and restore to different levels of hardware RAIDS. 0->5, 5->1, etc. since its the hardware's responsibility to distribute the data amongst the drives not the software.
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup software

    All recent versions of Acronis True Image product line supports all level of RAID setups including RAID 5. Please note that Windows Dynamic Drives are supported only by server versions of Acronis True Image (Acronis True Image 9.1 Server for Windows and Acronis True Image 9.1 Enterprise Server).

    Please note that additional drivers and fixes for Acronis Bootable Rescue Media RAID support would be included in the next build that would be released in the nearest future.

    Thank you.

    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.