How does Aconis make a full backup with windows running?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Mike89, Jan 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike89

    Mike89 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    I have Acronis 11 (retail). I just did my first backup of my 1st hard drive (I have 2 hard drives). I have two partitions on the first hard drive (Windows XP on 1st partition) and use the second hard drive as the destination for the backup of the first hard drive (both partitions).

    I had been using Ghost for a few years to make backups. I set it up and then it rebooted the computer and did the copy before Windows loads. Since I am now using Acronis, I was expecting it to work the same way. After I set it up, it started the copy from the 1st hard drive (both partitions) to the 2nd hard drive RIGHT IN WINDOWS. This threw me off because I'm wondering how it can make a full disk backup of the entire hard drive that the OS is on with the OS running.

    Hope someone can explain this to my dumb ass. Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2008
  2. me75006

    me75006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    23
  3. foghorne

    foghorne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,389
    Location:
    Leeds, Great Britain
  4. Mike89

    Mike89 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    Thanks, that link explained things well. That's pretty damn slick if you ask me. I didn't think that was possible, copying the OS while it was running. Glad I got this program.
     
  5. GroverH

    GroverH Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2,405
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    When replacing your system drive, it is best done when booting from the TI Rescue CD. Plus, you can also do full backups and restores from the Rescue CD. Create the REscue CD now and try it if you have not done so. Many members use the CD exclusively for their backup creation. They do not want Windows having any effect on their backups. Many use both Windows and Rescue CD for their backup creation.
     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    After many hundreds if not by now a thousand backup images made with Windows running I have not had any problems. So why not take advantage of all the benefits that a "Hot backup" gives ?

    Xpilot
     
  7. Mike89

    Mike89 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Posts:
    44
    Yeah I had made the rescue disk already. I used it to transfer my old IDE hard drive to a new bigger SATA hard drive. Worked great.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.