how do you reset tap adapter naming?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by imdb, Oct 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    every time you install a new tap adapter, it's given a name regardless of previously uninstalled adapters. so even though you uninstall tap adapter 3, new tap adapter will be assigned the name tap adapter 4. how do you reset that naming?
    thanks
     
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Whats a tap adapter? o_O
     
  3. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
  4. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Control Panel > Network and Sharing Center > Change adapter settings > Right-click > Rename.
     
  5. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    thanks j. but unfortunately this is not the solution to my problem. because even if you rename your current connection, the next time you create a new tap adapter, it'll be named not next to new name but to previous one.
    what i want to achieve is to reset the windows' naming system.
     
  6. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    This usually occurs due to existing installed TAP adapters, but it doesn't happen for me after I (or the software) uninstalls it before installing a new one.

    Try uninstalling all instances of TAP-Windows Adapter in Device Manager (show hidden devices, check delete driver software). Then install again.
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    already uninstalled all previous adapters in device manager. still no avail. :(
     
  8. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    I've seen this query asked numerous times in MS Answers. It would seem if adapter devices are added | removed | changed, the last default number will be the Windows default.

    What was stated in renaming the said adapter would probably work but might not
    be recommended.

    Just some thoughts...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 27, 2013
  10. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Just learned something new. :rolleyes:
     
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    thanks, silja. will take that into consideration.
     
  13. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    well, i gave up. i'll just restore my system back to a previous state.
     
  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  15. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    yes and no. yes because i restored my system to a previous state with an image taken by ati.
    no because i didn't use system restore. :thumb:
     
  16. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Did the image bring things back to normal ? Yes, many do not use system restore for obvious reasons.
     
  17. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    yes, it did. thanks. :thumb:
     
  18. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You're welcome.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.