How do I perform a 100% image or bare metal ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aschek, Apr 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aschek

aschek Registered Member

Hi,

I am new with this, so please excuse my ignorance.
    I bought a few weeks ago, a brand new Gateway computer, that included a RAID-0 with 2 (two) WD Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB each hard drive. Both drives I see as Partition 1 as a C (there is a D partition with 9GB of Gateway stuff, that D partition is like only 14GB)

I had issues with the drives so Gateway just send me 2 brand new hard drives I have to replace.

I need to move all my exact 100% system to the new hard drives without having to install everything again. So the only thing originally from the computer I am changing are only the 2 hard drives.

I contacted Acronis Sales, and they made me buy Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation AND Universal Restore for Acronis True Image 9.1 Workstation. I did, now I have both software installed on my computer.

Now I can't figure out how to do the moving ! I try to understand the logic, but I can't...

Would anybody be so kind and explain to me how i can do this on a step by step basis ? I am not an computer expert...

Also, did I buy the right software for the task I need ?? (in short, I need the same exact "image" or setup on the new had drives, and they should boot, as if nothing ever happened.) :)

I also have an external HDD drive so i can do the image there...

BTW, I have only used 122GB from the 300G available

THANKS SO MUCH !

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

all i can say is good luck and dont hold your breath
    i have found acronis to make alot of corropt images that dont restore so i hope the images your create do restore.
    lodore

3. aschek

aschek Registered Member

Hi !

So then what other solution is out there ? how did you do it ?
    thanks

4. foghorne

foghorne Registered Member