How do i know what my motherboard......

Discussion in 'hardware' started by SweX, Nov 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hi everyone.

    I KNOW a lot about hardware but not how to put them together:oops:

    However, I use a 4 year old PC with 512mb RAM pc2100 266mhz module.

    BUT i want to know if my motherboard can handle pc3200 modules as well.
    And how much GB i can put in also.

    How do i found out about what will work and not?

    Thanks a lot.
    Cheers, SweX
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2008
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    What is the make and model of your PC?
     
  3. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    It's a Desktop PC, Brand name is Amitech (from Denmark)

    Motherboard is > Gigabyte GA-7VM400M < Chipset: > VIA KM400 <

    And unfortunately the local Store where we bought the PC is GONE since about a year ago, so i cannot ask them.

    I did also email to Amitech in Sweden but no answer HAHA.

    Hope this is what you meant ThunderZ?

    Thanks
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Perfect, exactly what I needed to know. THIS and the other links on the page should give you all the info. you need.
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    HAHA yea i found nearly the same page.

    Well please if you take a look at MEMORY line abit down on this page then do you see that it supports max 2gb of ram but ALSO PC2700.

    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products...erboard&ProductID=1670&ProductName=GA-7VM400M <<

    And what i know of so is the pc2700 faster than the pc2100 right?

    And if i'm correct i will be able to use the 333mhz frontside bus with pc2700?

    Just confirm so i buy the right one :D
     
  6. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    BTW should i buy ONE 2GB module or TWO 1gb modules?
     
  7. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Looks to be right. Just make sure you get the 184 pin configuration and you should be all set to give your PC a good boost.

    ADDed: There are some who say that 1 x 2 gigs will give you a little better performance. But I really do not think you will see much difference between 1x2 or 2x1. Go with what ever memory manufacturer you decide in what ever configuration is the cheapest. You will notice\love the difference you will see from your current 512.
     
  8. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    One last question what is the diffrents.

    On some it says " CL2.5" OR "CL2.5 EEC" What does the EEC stand for?

    EEC better or whato_O

    And should i buy ONE 2GB module or TWO 1gb modules?
     
  9. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    EEC = error correcting. A nice feature but totally up to you as non-EEC is usually fine for desktop use.

    See my previous post concerning memory configuration. Added it after you read it.
     
  10. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    THANK YOU VERY MUCH ThunderZ

    I really appreciate your help,
    and i'm glad that you answerd so quickly as well!!!

    Now i know what memory i will buy thanks to you:thumb:

    Cheers, SweX
     
  11. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    If your motherboard supports dual-channel (interleaved), getting two 1GB is better. If not, then it wouldn't really matter which configuration you choose (2x1GB or 1x2GB). Also, ECC is indeed a nice feature to have but not really needed for desktop use.

    EDIT: I guess I posted too late.
     
  12. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    No you did not thanks a lot ambient_88

    Well while your here,

    Bufferd or unbufferd then? Sorry to ask but i had to ;)
     
  13. ambient_88

    ambient_88 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    854
    Unless your motherboard supports buffered memory, it most likely will not work. You will find buffered memory mostly on servers since they they often require many memory modules.
     
  14. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Thanks a lot you to ambient_88 then i belive that i will not buy a bufferd memory.

    Cheers, SweX
     
  15. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Enjoy the new horse power under the hood. :thumb: :D
     
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Will do *puppy* :D Again Thank you so much too both of you. SweX
     
  17. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    If you can get PC3200 cheaper or same price as PC2700 you would be better off with the PC3200. 2x1gig would be better than 1x2gig.
     
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Hi FastGame.

    Unfortunately my motherboard doesn't support pc3200,
    so i have to get the pc2700 am afraid.

    Though i will buy two 1 gb modules instead of one 2 gb.

    Thanks, SweX
     
  19. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    PC3200 is backward compatible, it'll scale down to PC2700.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.