How do I keep a program sandboxed in Sandboxie?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by ratchet, Dec 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Despite the fact that I've used Sb a gazillion years I've never wanted to lock down a program. I discovered today that an old XP favorite, Weather Pulse, which died because the developer couldn't get free data from The Weather Channel anymore, is back. I'm thinking I'd like to keep it sandboxed. It checks in with the NWS every five minutes for updates so I want that function avilable. Also, I'm thinking I don't want it in my default sandbox.
    Thank you!
     
  2. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    Get the paid version and give it its own sandbox I would guess. :)
     
  3. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Ratchet, create a separate sandbox for Weather Pulse.

    Sandboxie control>Sandbox>Create new sandbox

    If you are using the paid version, you can force Weather Pulse to run sandboxed automatically when you click its icon.

    If you are using the free version, you can create a sandboxed shortcut for Weather pulse.

    Sandboxie control>Configure>Windows Shell Integration, click add Add shortcut icons, find Weather pulse in one of the menus and click it. The sandboxed shortcut will appear at the desktop after the click.

    The only thing that you cant do in the free version regarding having a separate sandbox for Weather Pulse is that you can not use both sandboxes at the same time. If you want Weather Pulse to be running at all times and still be able to browse in your default sandbox at the same time, then you need to have the registered version.

    Bo
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2013
  4. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Have paid. WP will always on so how do I add it to the new Sb? Thank you!
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Once you create a new sandbox just for it and add the program, it will be sandboxed. You have to add Weather pulse exe to forced programs. Then you can restrict what it can do.
     
  6. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Thanks everyone, I'm good to go as I just did this!
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Ratchet, after you create the WP dedicated sandbox, go to Sandbox settings (in the WP sandbox)>Program Start>Forced Programs, Click Add programs and navicate to Program files and select WP exe. Thats all you need to add or do.

    Afterward, WP will run sandboxed in the WP sandbox when you click its icon.

    Bo
     
  8. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    Ok, so I admit, this is a really pathetic request. Is there anyway to prevent this new sb from showing "the sand" in the icon? I'd prefer that be limited to just my browser and email client.
     
  9. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I don't think that option is available Ratchet.:)

    Bo
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    3,770
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Sorry kjdemuth:cool:, just now saw your post. I am getting old.

    Bo
     
  11. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    No worries Bo.
     
  12. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    There is also the choice of not installing the program in your Windows at all if it is maybe not so trusted by you, even if it is liked:

    Name the sandbox you create after the program you are going to install in it and configure the sandbox so that its contents will be never deleted. You will have to manually start the program by 'sandbox -> Explore Contents' way.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.