how do i exclude certain folders and files?

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by cyberxs, Oct 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cyberxs

cyberxs Registered Member

Hi, I'm pretty new to FD-ISR and I actually like it quite a bit so far. :thumb:

The only problem I'm having is that I can't get it to exclude certain folders and files, but maybe i'm doing something wrong? o_O

For instance, I have C:\Windows\Prefetch listed but when I look at the log after a manual of scheduled copy, I still see many of the files in this folder being copied (some even generate errors). I've tried entering C:\Windows\Prefetch\*.* but that didn't work either. I've removed it from the list, restarted, added it back, restarted to no avail. btw, other excluded folders listed work just fine.

Another related issue: How can I exclude all folders that have "Temporary Internet Files" in them?

I'm using FirstDefense-ISR 2000/XP Professional, ver. 1.05 Build 166

I'm logged on with Administrator rights and have AVGFree AV and PrimaryResponse SafeConnect running for security (in case it'll shed some light on my issue).

Anyone have any suggestions?
    Thanks.

2. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Personally I don't think it's a good idea to exclude any files that have any system association. Prefetch for sure fits that bill.

What you should consider is anchoring My Documents, but not the full Documents and settings folder. It contains application and some system type stuff.

Pete

3. starfish_001

starfish_001 Registered Member

I don't tend to exlcude stuff these days but you can do this

Options - tasks - exclude - browse the folder that you want to exclude.

4. starfish_001

starfish_001 Registered Member

personally I'd rather put data on a different partition than use data anchoring

I agree with Peter about system files - you could delete prefetch data or just turn it off. Why not copy it?

5. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member