How do I completely uninstall PE 9.0?

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by zigmund, Apr 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zigmund

zigmund Registered Member

Kept getting error 2 see earlier post.
    Uninstalled PE 9.0
    A lot of Acronis registry keys left that give Error when you try to delete them.
    Tried in Safe Mode
    Tried with regedit.exe and regedt32.exe both give Error unable to delete key, I'm in XP Administrator mode.
    Properties for these keys show I have access.
    Why can't these keys be deleted?
    You expect uninstall to actually uninstall.
    Are there instructions for complete uninstall of PE 9.0 (short of a reformat and reinstall of XP)?

2. werne

werne Registered Member

Don't hold your breath waiting for the Official Acronis reply as they don't come around here very often. However, I've had a lot of experience lately installing and uninstalling PES 9.0 so I can give you a few tips. First, make sure you have a backup of everything (an image file is desired which will get you back a working system in a very short period of time). Second, uninstall all Acronis products (this means reboot after every uninstall even if not prompted to do so). Third, delete the subfolder at c:\program files\common files\aconis. You may not be able to do so because of the schedule2 subfolder. If that is the case then delete everything but that folder - reboot again). Third, run CCleaner available at http://www.ccleaner.com/. It is very good at deleting ghost registry entries to programs no longer installed. Reboot. Fourth, again make darn sure that you have a working backup. Fifth, now go through the registry with regedit and try to delete every entry you can find (using acronis as the search term). The reason for the backups is that I frequently found at this point that I was unable to boot into windows because of files like timntr.sys (from True Image). If you don't have any other Acronis product, then maybe all