How do I buy True Image vs. 8 for XP SP1?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dakt, Nov 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dakt

    dakt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I need to backup a Win XP Service Pack1 System.
    I can only find Acronis True Image Home vs 10, which supports SP2 only.

    How do I backup Windows XP SP1 with possiblity to boot?

    I asked before in this forum and was told True Image vs 8 can be used on XP SP1.
    How do I get it?

    Is there a way to contact Acronis directly (without paying hotline fares)?
     
  2. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    http://www.atomicpark.com/[url] lists TI 8.
     
  3. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
  4. dakt

    dakt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    I can only find Acronis Migrate Easy 7.0

    Where did you find this? Link?
     
  5. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Does it specifically say it does NOT support XP Sp1? But no need to go all the way back to ver. 8. It may be easier to find ver. 9.
     
  6. dakt

    dakt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    It says system requirements XP SP2.
    I know that other programs that run on SP2 don not run on SP1....

    I found an offer on Ebay for vs8. How do I know it is legit?
    Is a unregistered serial enough? (how do I find out if it is already registered?)

    Can I upgrade vs8 to vs10 without furter costs?
     
  7. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    Have you tried the free version 10 trial? Maybe it will work.
     
  8. King FN Kong

    King FN Kong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    134
    Ive used 9 on sp1 for several months. actually since the first 9 release. no probs at all.
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
  10. Turning4Home

    Turning4Home Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    13
  11. dakt

    dakt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    7
    Thanx for the answers and links.

    Has anybody else used True Image Home 9 on XP SP1? Maybe I should get vs9 if it works on XP SP1?

    Is it as stable as vs8? Does it have additional features?
     
  12. TheWeaz

    TheWeaz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,562
    "Has anybody else used True Image Home 9 on XP SP1?"

    Yes; it works.
     
  13. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    But the system requirements require SP 2.
    Using with only SP1 is not supported.
    And Acronis no longer seems to be responding to TI 9 queries in the web forum.
     
  14. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    If you have the serial number, go to the Acronis web site and try registering the product.

    I would have thought that the original owner would have already registered the product.

    I would not buy on ebay as you have little assurance of the legality of what you are buying.

    If you need TI 8, get it from AtomicPark.
     
  15. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello dakt,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    Please find my reply in this previous thread you have started.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support using Ask a question before you purchase Acronis software link or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Please try to avoid posting duplicate requests in the future as it makes us as well as other forum members do a double work sometimes.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.