How Can This Happen?

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by WilliamP, Oct 17, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I have Win. XP . I have SSM ,DW ,Returnl and NOD32. I turned on Returnl and DW then went to some site on the internet that I shouldn't have. It shut down DW. I got out and the computer said I needed to run chkdsk ,which I did and it corrected problems. I know it was my fault but what can do this?
     
  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,699
    Hello,

    What browser ...?

    Were you running in the "shadow" mode? If so, simple reboot and that's it ...
    Besides, I find it extremely unlikely that both DefenseWall and Returnil would be defeated so. Plus SSM and NOD ... More details would be nice.

    Sounds more like an OS error / hardware error than anything else.

    Mrk
     
  3. yankinNcrankin

    yankinNcrankin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    406
    How about you give me a PM to that site you shouldn't of gone to and I'll be happy to try and duplicate and confirm your experience as I have the exact same software you got minus SSM. :D
     
  4. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I honestly don't think I could retrace my steps. All I know is I got a pop up saying that DW was going to have to shut down. I can't remember if I had re-booted before it asked for ckdsk to be run. I just wanted to get out and run some scans. Nothing was found.
     
  5. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    Could you PM me the URL and your browser's options?
     
  6. herbalist

    herbalist Guest

    If you find the url, send it my way as well, along with your browser settings. I'd like to see what SSM does there.
    Rick
     
  7. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I'm sorry ,but there is no way that I can get to where I was. It was click here,then click here ,then click there. Then I got the pop up saying DW was going to have to shut down.
     
  8. Ilya Rabinovich

    Ilya Rabinovich Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,543
    But, maybe you have somewhere URL history saved?
     
  9. CogitoErgoSum

    CogitoErgoSum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Posts:
    641
    Location:
    Cerritos, California
    Hello WilliamP,

    Out of curiosity, were you able to determine/verify if DW's GUI(defensewall.exe) or service was shut down? Both? The reason that I ask is because I would be very surprised if the latter was shut down. Thanks in advance.


    Peace & Love,

    CogitoErgoSum
     
  10. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    I'm not sure. I do know that when I shut down Firefox and went back to the desk top the DW icon was gone from the task bar. I believe it was at that point I got the pop up saying that I needed to run chkdsk. I had Returnil protection on so I rebooted after chkdsk. I know now that I should have done more to determine what happened. I was trying to stop what ever was possibly going on.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.