How Can I get a sound warning...?

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by mypenry, Aug 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    I am running ewido 4.0 ( paid ) can any one tell me please if its possible to
    set some thing up to alert me ( by making a sound ) on my computer if ewido finds a problem ..?

    Thanks ........ Mypenry
     
  2. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    not any i can find
     
  3. robinb

    robinb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    456
    Location:
    NJ
    you know maybe there should actually be one, a sound or the icon flashing so you do know it actually found something especially if you have it set not to do anything without your permission.

    robin
     
  4. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    I want an ewido 3.5 skin for 4.0 or an alternative download or something :) I love that siren... every time something got found she would jump out of her chair while playing sims 2 lol... she literally got scared... can't do that with version 4 though...
     
  5. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Thanks Guy's for the replys,

    Does any one else have an idea how to get a warning sound when some things found..?

    Thanks ......Mypenry
     
  6. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    You'd have to ask the ewido team if they read this for that option in the next version out :)
     
  7. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Hi ....btman

    Ive just sent them an email , and will post their reply


    Thanks ......... Mypenry
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    Make sure you have their expressed permission to post their reply.
     
  9. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Hi ........bigc73542

    Good Point , I will ask them first ...


    Thanks Mypenry
     
  10. vinzenz.ewido

    vinzenz.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    425
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    No it is not possible and we'll not include it again, since there were many customers who didn't like this feature.

    I am sorry.

    Regards,
    Vinzenz
     
  11. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Could you make it an option that is automatically set to off unless switched after download?
     
  12. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Thanks .......vinzenz.ewido
    for your reply, I think this comment say's it all...........

    Could you make it an option that is automatically set to off unless switched after download?

    That would give every one the ... OPTION .... to use or not use the sound alert facility I am sure not every one sits at their monitors just watching the scanning process, as for my self I set the scan going and then may be leave the room, it would be great to hear the Sound alert facility just letting me know that some thing has been found. May be we should conduct a poll on this subject..? in the end as the saying goes ..The customer is always right .


    Thanks ......... Mypenry
     
  13. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Certainly couldn't hurt to have it as an option.:)
     
  14. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    HI ..Don Pelotas

    I Think your comment ..( Certainly couldn't hurt to have it as an option. )

    is some thing that I think some users would want ..? or at least it would be nice to be given the option, but the past comment ...No it is not possible and we'll not include it again .......seem's to put us in our place .


    Thanks ......... Mypenry
     
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,282
    Location:
    England
    It would be nice to have it as an option, it always gave my heart a good workout when it found something!
     
  16. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Hi ....stapp

    Yes but it's good to 'Hear' that its found some thing and doing its job ,
    or if we are just happy looking at the monitor to see if any things been found , then if it had the ..Option .. to switch off the .... Ive found some thing come and have a look 'Sound ' alert , our hearts would not skip a beat ...but I am forgetting as users we have already been told ........

    No it is not possible and we'll not include it again, since there were many customers who didn't like this feature.

    as a new user of V4 , I don't know about past versions but from the above comment
    it sounds as if at one time in some past version there was what I would call a useful sound alert ..? I wonder if there was and if so could the sound alert be turned off ..as an option..?

    sorry ive got to go now as my other programme that's running as I type this is sounding an alert letting me know its found some thing ....Wonderful ............ Mypenry

    ..........
     
  17. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    Version 3.5 did have an alert... but it popped up in the screen also and after like 25 tracking cookies it did get annoying.. but still i grew into it... and so i'd love that option back.. if it was disabled at first download for the many that didn't like it :D
     
  18. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Hi ...btman, thanks for the answer, In my view it would be nice to be given the ...Option.. to have a Found some thing sound alert , that can be checked ..on or ..off by the user.


    any one else like to, comment on having this simple option included ...?




    Thanks ........... Mypenry
     
  19. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,282
    Location:
    England
    mypenry, It also had a picture of a red siren to go with the noise.
    It was useful if (as once happened to me) something would keep reinventing itself, which turned out to be a currentcontrolset bug, and I would run it to see if it had REALLY gone this time!
    So sometimes not hearing the noise was as "good" as hearing it. It was LOUD, but you could turn it off if you wanted, or leave it on if you were in the kitchen!
     
  20. mypenry

    mypenry Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    85
    Location:
    Central Thailand
    Thanks ....stapp

    You just confirm my thoughts that such an ..Option ... would and can be useful to most users..?

    May be we are in the minority of users who would like to be at least given the ..Option ,

    but looking back to the comment ,, we'll not include it again, since there

    were many customers who didn't like this feature....... may be I am wrong ...?

    what do other users think...?

    Thanks ....... Mypenry
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.