How can I fix this?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Doc Serenity, Aug 30, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    I'm trying out the latest version of LnS.
    I use Antivir Personal Premium AV.
    I have Antivir scheduled to update every couple of hours.
    I just installed LnS and set it up with the Enhanced Rules.
    I have Antivir allowed in Application Monitoring.
    But LnS blocks all Antivir updates, scheduled and manual. ANtivir isn't allowed to make the connection to the internet.
    If I turn off LnS I can update my AV.
    I use XP Pro w/SP2.
    How can I correct this problem.
    I don't see the solution.
    Thanks for any help.
    Doc
     
  2. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Are you sure you have all antivir's modules allowed to access the net, if i remember correctly theres more than one. Check if any antivir entries have a red circle next to them.
     
  3. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    In application filtering there are 5 applications for Antivir. All 5 are allowed.
    There is nothing in internet filtering that shows Antivir allowed or blocked.
    In application filtering the scheduler is allowed but the updater is not shown, if that means anything.
    Thanls.
    Doc
     
  4. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Doc Serenity :)

    1) in the application filter tab put an exclamation mark for each program related to your AV, If there's a blocking from LnS it appear in the log ...

    2) normally the AV updates used the normal local port to connect to the update server port. Is it possible that your AV try to make this connection from a range outside the standard one? Example: from a port higher than 5000 in XP ?
    Check in the log for such blocking.

    3) Is it possible that the AV update used the UDP instead (or with the TCP).
    Check again in the log for outgoing UDO blocking.

    4) Is it possible that your AV makes the update with a temporary executable with a "non-standard" extension?

    An example of this is Avast: the program to be authorised is "avast.setup"...
    (This is working BTW)

    Look for some weirds entries in the application filter: a folder icon and a ?
    for an unknown program...

    No more idea. Hope this help. Let us know.

    :)
     
  5. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    According to the log 'PREUPD' app is being stopped even though it has the green octagon.
    I think it's using port 1196.
    Haven't yet been able to correct this.
    Doc
     
  6. Doc Serenity

    Doc Serenity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Posts:
    105
    This firewall is not something I'm going to wrestle with just to get it to work.
    Thank you for your help.
    Doc
     
  7. Climenole

    Climenole Look 'n' Stop Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Posts:
    1,640
    Hi Doc Serenity :)


    Upload a copy of your log here.

    With "managed attachments" button ...

    :)
     
  8. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Heres the application rules i used with antivir and it updated fine.
     

    Attached Files:

    • lns.JPG
      lns.JPG
      File size:
      75.7 KB
      Views:
      3
  9. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Heres the connection details.
     

    Attached Files:

    • lns2.JPG
      lns2.JPG
      File size:
      31.2 KB
      Views:
      216
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.