How can I enable/ repair pgaccount.exe

Discussion in 'ProcessGuard' started by Rilla927, May 15, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Hello everyone! I purchased PG three days ago. I reinstalled five times, and then everytime I took it out of Learning Mode, a short time after up in the right corner of program, it would switch and say "pgaccount.exe" is not running. Is this a known problem? I'm really impressed with the program,but have no clue as what do now.

    Rilla927
     
  2. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    hi,
    check "DiamondCS Process Guard Service v3.000"(run-services.msc) if the service is started at all.
    http://img199.echo.cx/img199/9712/pgaccount0wd.jpg

    and/or check ur startup list whit spybot s&d for example
    i had this once (pgaccount.exe not running) and fixed it by adding the startup entry with spybot s&destroy :)

    http://img199.echo.cx/img199/6851/pgaccount25ng.jpg

    Code:
    Located: HK_LM:Run, !1_pgaccount
    command: "C:\Program Files\ProcessGuard\pgaccount.exe"
       file: C:\Program Files\ProcessGuard\pgaccount.exe
       size: 184320
        MD5: 49c764d74387bdfb0a6aaebede0b62e2
    
     
  3. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710

    Hi Fred, I checked services.msc and it said automatic. I'm running Adaware SE pro v1.5 build, SpywareBlaster, I just downloaded the newest one early this morning, PC Cillian 2005 Suite. I do not have Spybot. I have Microsoft's new AntiSpyware Beta, I just installed early this morning also. All the other smaller utilities I have wouldn't affect this.

    I have no clue! I have been trying to figure this out ever since I installed it. If you have any suggestions please let me know. (or anyone else for that matter)

    Thanks so much
    Rilla927
     
  4. Stro

    Stro Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Memphis, TN USA
    Rilla,
    I had the same problem with pgaccount.exe that just started this morning. Do a Search on "pgaccount" in the Process Guard forum (use Advanced Search). You'll find a thread in which Pilli tells of two registry entries for pgaccount.exe to look for. I found I did not have one of them, so I added it and pgaccount.exe now runs on my PG.
    Regards,
    Stro
     
  5. fred22

    fred22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Posts:
    229
    another way is adding pgaccount using spybot s&d
    it worked for me

    open spybot s&d
    click tools
    click system startup
    click the green + sign
    add it like this:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Amazing what one learns on this forum. I'll probably use this info some time in the future. Thanks.

    Rich
     
  7. Stro

    Stro Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    130
    Location:
    Memphis, TN USA
  8. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Thanks everyone for all the info! Stro, I did follow the link you gave me and printed it out so I could follow easily,but I had no luck. My suspicions from the start was Ad-Watch being the culprit and it was.

    I remember Pilli saying that Ad-Watch'es permissions can be obscured and they were right!

    Since I had no luck trying to merge the two files from the link you gave me, I decided to uninstall PG, and do it over. But, this time, I turned off the "automatic" and "active" buttons on adwatch and then unloaded it right before the new install of PG and so far it's working fine. This time when I done the new install and restarted the computer, I did see a window for Ad-Watch wanting confirmation of PG.

    Before, when I suspected Ad-Watch being the culprit, I added a new rule for pgaccount.exe and that still didn't work, I was surprised! But, thank god, it's resolved, thanks to all you good knowledgable folk out there in forum's like these.

    Thanks to all, you're great!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.