How can I disable IPV6 from ever touching my network?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Claire, May 30, 2016.

  1. Claire

    Claire Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    US
    I talked to a friend who works for my ISP and they are apparently getting ready to enable IPV6 by the end of the year. What can I do to preemptively block my personal network from ever using IPV6? I currently have a modem my ISP provided which is in bridge mode and my private router is connected to it.

    I currently have it set to "disabled", I previously had it set to block traffic but it was leaking my routers factory MAC address so I switched it back to disabled.

    http://i.imgur.com/wHnZhio.png

    I currently randomly generate my routers WAN MAC address every few weeks to force change my IP address. Can I continue to do that with IPV6?

    The settings in my router are incredibly confusing http://buffalo.jp/support_s/guide2/manual/wxr-1900dhp/99/en/mobile_main.html#internet-ipv6_1
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,029
    It's likely that your ISP will enable IPv6 without disabling IPv4 stuff. So yes, you can probably just disable IPv6 in your router, and everything else will work as it did before.
     
  3. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    To disable IPv6 from within Windows, run CMD as admin and enter:

    netsh int ipv6 isatap set state disabled
    netsh int teredo set state disabled
    netsh interface ipv6 6to4 set state state=disabled undoonstop=disabled
    reg add "HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip6\Parameters" /v "DisabledComponents" /t REG_DWORD /d "255" /f
     
  4. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    731
    I went a bit extra and also added block rules in WFwAS via WFC...
    ipv6.jpg
    The Local and Remote empty fields is the equivalent of the value "Any". For example, any address, any port.
     
  5. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    1,176
    ScreenHunter_17 May. 31 12.35.jpg Would this work?
     
Loading...