How can I backup my Windows and everything else onto a CD?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by SonyaM32, Aug 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Hi everyone it's me again :D
    I just heard another horror story about a computer crashing, and there was no backup CD's etc:
    So now I want to backup everything on my computer onto a cd.
    I kinda want a Windows XP CD, because sometimes things will ask me to insert Windows XP CD, and I don't have one. It would be my own Windows that's already on my computer that I bought that I want a copy of for myself.
    Can someone help me? To either backup everything, or make my Win XP CD?
    Thanks :)
     
  2. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Who is your PC manufacture ?
     
  3. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    emachine :)
     
  4. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    :blink: :ninja:
     
  5. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    huh? Does that mean no? :D
     
  6. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
  7. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    lol, on the front of my PC and the monitor it says emachine. Can we just say it's a dell? lol :D
    I really don't know who makes emachine. But I think emachine does. :doubt: :D :cool:
     
  8. LowWaterMark

    LowWaterMark Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    17,876
    Location:
    New England
    I think they are a Gateway sub-brand, but am not sure.
     
  9. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Will it say another manufactuer anywhere else on the computer?
     
  10. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Going with LWM's comment about Gateway....do you see a number like T4010, T6520....etc somewhere on the box ? What I am attempting to suggest is that you should be able to get the manufactures original CD....even if you have to put your best foot forward and call them and pretty much persuade them for a CD.

    There are definetly good back-up softwares that members will suggest....but....it would still be good to have the original CD's for the machine. If it is indeed eMachines form Gateway....I'll look around there site to see if they offer the CD's.
     
  11. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Well, I have a cd that came with the machine. I really don't know what it is. But I thought it was some kind of restore, or whatever cd?
    Is it also my windows too? Should I put the cd in to see what it is?
    I want to backup Windows too.
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Sure....it's Froggy Friday....go for it :eek:
     
  13. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Ok, it says on the cd that it is a restore dvd, I put it in and this is what showed.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Sonya....that very much looks like a restore CD that possibly puts your machine back as it was from day one....which ain't a bad thing in case the need ever arises.
     
  15. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Thanks, so it has a copy of Windows then?
     
  16. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Well....the only way I would know for sure is if I made a trip down to Sunny Florida....laid on the beach....sucking down a Corona or 3 and read some of them Support items in that Support folder :eek: :cool:

    All kidding aside....take a peek in some of them folders for .txt or .pdf files and see if you can't find some info concerning that....in particular that Windows folder.


    Edit
    Sonya....in one of my earlier posts I asked if you "see a number like T4010, T6520"....that type info would be helpful. If it is indeed a Gateway eMachine....the info you are showing corresponds to what is seen at the Gateway eMachine web site.

    eMachines PC Recovery Media

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 19, 2005
  17. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    Ok, I will check for the number on the computer.
    I clicked on the windows icon, and the Windows picture viewer thingy came up and it said "no preview available"
    Thank you for your help.
    I would like to backup my personal stuff though, like letters, pictures, my fonts, glitter, and all kinds of stuff I would hate to loose if I ever had to do a restore because of it crashing.
     
  18. SonyaM32

    SonyaM32 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Posts:
    718
    I looked and I could not find a number like those. :)
    I saw mountains of dust though :mad:
     
  19. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    Maybe the better option Sonya might be to image (clone) the entire HDD to a new backup HDD. A full 'image' of your OS, Progs, Files etc. I got an external HDD for around $200 AUD, and there would probably be cheaper alternatives....
     
  20. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    That was going to be my suggestion. Instead of getting an extra harddrive, you could also get a DVD burner which would be cheaper (I got mine for around $50). I use Acronis True Image and love it. Very easy to use, too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.