How best to configure backups?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by David07666, Oct 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. David07666

David07666 Registered Member

I'm new to TI and just installed TI 10 and I'm still a bit confused on some things. My goals are (1) to be able to restore the complete system in the event of a catastrophic failure, of course, but also (2) to be able to get back previous versions of files or files that were accidently deleted, and I'm not clear on how best to do this. I understand that I can mount the disk image and get back individual files, but is this the best way to achieve my second goal? In other words, should I simply backup the partition image and keep incrementals/differentials of that........or should I ALSO do folder level backups of, eg, the MyDocuments folder, in addition to the partition image

I have a fairly low volume of updates on my system and would aim to be able to go back, say, 2 weeks or maybe a month looking for old documents.

My system is as follows:
    XP Pro
    PC's HDD = 80 gb
    USD HDD = 250 GB

Also, do most people run incrementals or differentials? How long of an incremental chain is thought to be reasonably safe?

2. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

It's really tough to define "reasonably safe" when talking about True Image backups. Personally I do not like incrementals because of the "chain" of files that is produced. And you know what they say about a chain and its strength. I also do not like backing up files with True Image. I simply copy the folders and files I want to backup, using windows explorer. If I want to compress those folders and files to save space I use the built in winzip in XP to do so.