HotSpotShield & Proxomitron - configure?

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by deadmanschest, Feb 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Hi all - hope for some help here, searches return no joy...

    I'm new to wireless. Set up new laptop in Vista x64 to connect to my wireless router, works fine. Router uses NAT. I'm currently connected to the wireless router. Using Firefox via Proxo as have for years.

    Installed HSpotShield but when I try to configure it opens FF and gives an error that cannot connect to 127.0.0.1:895...

    Fair enough. I have FF set to http via Proxo on 127.0.0.1:8080 (I think the default was always 80).

    Seems to me that HSpot shield should just start up, since it is supposed to also tunnel email and other protocols, other protocols like ftp and smtp, so it can't just be http. That makes me think its just a router type configuration where it opens the browser. I am stumped...

    I'm new to the Vista Firewall, but have added Vista Firewall Control (VFC). Both FF and Proxo have full outbound access (egress?). I have enabled as many HSpot processes outbound egress as have been flagged by VFC.

    So, I cannot launch or configure HSpot and I don't know where to start?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance

    dmc

    PS - Try to acess the AnchorFree "support" pages that show up in a Clusty search, but all are 404 and redirect to a useless current page. The website has no support, forum or help tabs that I can find...
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2009
  2. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    Nuttin' to do with Proxo...

    Hi all - sometimes I need to ask questions to get ideas for answers...

    I reset FFox for 'direct connection' to the Internet, bypassing Proxo, and still no joy.

    HotSpotShield still comes up "cannot connect 127.0.0.1:895"

    I tried to see if HSS wanted a proxy setup by pointing FF http at localhost:895 but that didn't work.

    Still stumped.

    Thanks
    dmc
     
  3. deadmanschest

    deadmanschest Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Posts:
    105
    TAP VPN error?

    Uninstalled & reinstalled HotSShield - tried using 'compatibility mode' for XPsp2 and got an error for setting up TAP VPN. Did a Clusty search and got a lot of linux hits about problems with 32 & 64 bit drivers for TAP.

    Whatever, it just fails to work. The HotSpotShield site is useless for support so will just doa it for now.

    Thanks

    cheers

    dmc
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.