HOSTS files combination! (?)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by PiCo, May 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PiCo

PiCo Registered Member

I'm currenlty testing MVPS hosts file, but I also have SpyBot S&D in my system which adds entries in the host file.

Should I keep MVPS, SpyBot S&D, a third one you could suggest, or all of them combined together?

Thanx in advance!

2. gerardwil

gerardwil Registered Member

Hi,

I would like to add a 5th option: Or should I be better to use none at all?

Gerard

3. n8chavez

n8chavez Registered Member

Of course, that's just ridiculous. I've always found that Hostman along with MVPS, Mike ad nlocking hosts, and Peter Lowe's AdServer List does a great job.

4. G1111

G1111 Registered Member

I have been using MVPS Hosts file for several years with no problem. I also use hpHosts file. I use HostsXpert to merge the two lists.

5. gerardwil

Maybe I misunderstand, so please explain this.

Gerard

6. n8chavez

Why would you not use a hosts file; what are the costs compared to the benefits of using one? There is no downside to a customized MVPS hosts file. A hosts file adds another layer of security when you're on the internet yet it uses no system resuorces. So, in my opinion, the choice is easy....use it. It makes no sense not to have one.

7. PiCo

PiCo Registered Member

I placed the MVPS hosts file in windows/system32/drivers/etc and then run SpyBot S&D to immunise.

It was strange to see that from the 8200 hosts entries SB currently has, it recognised only 1000 on the MVPS hosts file!

That means MVPS and SB differ at about 7200 entries :p

Whatever that means.

8. gerardwil

What you answered here is well known to me. Still I don't see anything about: ridiculous.
    Does it come up to your mind there might be other tools to achieve the same or better?

Gerard

9. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Since you have a combined HOSTS file, can you test something for me ?