HOSTS File

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TVH, Jan 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Im using the latest mvps Hosts file at the moment. Is there a 'best' file to use? Or do all of them (ie. mvps, hpHosts etc etc) as good as each other?
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Can you find the word "esellerate" in your Hosts file ?
     
  3. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    sorry erik, not sure what you mean
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    esellerate is in the hpHosts file but not the MVPS one...
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    In MVPS there is. In hpHosts no.
     
  6. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    I took a second look. "esellerate" is not in the mvps HOSTS file. :)

    TVH: If you want the most extensive coverage, it's hpHosts. But it is a much bigger file.

    In my own case, I use Ad Muncher and the mvps HOSTS file...
     
  7. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    You are right.

    :D
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I explain why I asked this.
    Once I had Hostsman on board and used every available hosts file in Hostsman, including hpHosts. No problems.

    After awhile I wanted to buy Faronics Anti-Executable and Faronics has an Online Store where home users can buy AE easily.
    The problem was I couldn't get access to this On-line Store and according Faronics there was no problem either with the On-line Store website. (I sent an email).

    I looked deeper and noticed that the word "esellerate" appeared in the URL, mentioned on Faronics email with instructions to buy it, so I searched in my Hosts file, found them and removed them all.
    After that I could get access to the On-line Store and finally buy AE.

    The moral of this story : when you use hpHosts file, you can't buy AE. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  9. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Il just stick with mvps. Had no problems so far and it works brilliantly with ie7 pro - no more annoyng ads, popups and other junk :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.