HOSTS File

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by TVH, Jan 17, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Im using the latest mvps Hosts file at the moment. Is there a 'best' file to use? Or do all of them (ie. mvps, hpHosts etc etc) as good as each other?
     
  2. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Can you find the word "esellerate" in your Hosts file ?
     
  3. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    sorry erik, not sure what you mean
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    esellerate is in the hpHosts file but not the MVPS one...
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    965
    In MVPS there is. In hpHosts no.
     
  6. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    I took a second look. "esellerate" is not in the mvps HOSTS file. :)

    TVH: If you want the most extensive coverage, it's hpHosts. But it is a much bigger file.

    In my own case, I use Ad Muncher and the mvps HOSTS file...
     
  7. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    965
    You are right.

    :D
     
  8. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I explain why I asked this.
    Once I had Hostsman on board and used every available hosts file in Hostsman, including hpHosts. No problems.

    After awhile I wanted to buy Faronics Anti-Executable and Faronics has an Online Store where home users can buy AE easily.
    The problem was I couldn't get access to this On-line Store and according Faronics there was no problem either with the On-line Store website. (I sent an email).

    I looked deeper and noticed that the word "esellerate" appeared in the URL, mentioned on Faronics email with instructions to buy it, so I searched in my Hosts file, found them and removed them all.
    After that I could get access to the On-line Store and finally buy AE.

    The moral of this story : when you use hpHosts file, you can't buy AE. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  9. TVH

    TVH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Posts:
    227
    Il just stick with mvps. Had no problems so far and it works brilliantly with ie7 pro - no more annoyng ads, popups and other junk :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.