HOSTs - ads blocking

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by korben, Nov 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    I just downloaded HostsXpert 4.3, hostess 4.1, HostsMan 3.1.57 but I'm not sure how to use them.

    There is one particular parasite I'd like to get rid of yet I need your help with this one...

    this:

    xaw02e.jpg
    http://i33.tinypic.com/xaw02e.jpg

    I see it every time I visit this site:
    rmvboard.pl/forum

    right click shows this url:
    fload.pl/index.php?d=2SAZ4cObtH

    Please do not consider this any type of advertising of the above site.

    All i want is to learn how to disable this freaking link.

    thank you in advance

    ps I sincerely hope this is the right section....
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    127.0.0.1 fload.pl
     
  3. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    You can't block this. It's part of rmvboard.pl -

    051109.png
     
  4. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    That's bad news yet I'm thankful for your meaningful responses :)

    so there's no way to prevent it from loading/ being seen?
     
  5. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    too often I see an ad of a site offering you the date of your death and I freakin hate it..

    Is there a way to block google sponsored ads that appear on google ?
     
  6. security2087

    security2087 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    adblock plus can do this (it's a firefox add-on)
     
  7. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    740
    thanks, man!


    Just checked doing this:

    in Opera I searched for : inbox

    and again the freakish link appeared

    did the same on FF with ad block - nothing

    wish it was possible with Opera 10 cause I do not like FF at all

    edit//

    I found this site:

    http://www.fanboy.co.nz/adblock/

    does the trick with Opera 10

    happy I am
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  8. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Thats one of the subscriptions of Adblock Plus but how did you use it with opera? :D
     
  9. acuariano

    acuariano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Posts:
    786
    very easy,very effective,,fanboy's adblocker for opera.
    go to the site-download and install ini file
    save this file into
    (XP/W2K) C:\Documents and Settings\"your username"\Application Data\Opera\Opera\
    (Vista/7) C:\Users\"your username"\AppData\Roaming\Opera\Opera\
    (OSX) /Users/"your username"/Library/Preferences/Opera Preferences/
    (Linux) ~/.opera/
     
  10. subhrobhandari

    subhrobhandari Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    708
    Thank you. Just forgot to check that right side Opera icon. ;)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.