Hoping to understand

Discussion in 'Paragon Drive Backup Product Line' started by Wayne22, Nov 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wayne22

Wayne22 Registered Member

I'm new to Paragon 12 Home, but have used others extensively. I am impressed, but confused. The statements below are questions. I don't know the answer to any of them, and would appreciate guiding comments, about how to best use this product. The manual is full of details, but I'm missing the big picture somehow.

1. Generally, I think I always want only full backups of individual partitions (I only want something restorable). I think the only way to do that is to each time manually create a new empty directory on the archive disk, and do a backup into that new location each time? Is that correct? An empty directory location does a Full backup, and any previously used directory is one of the partials?

2. If I do a second Express mode Smart Backup into that same folder location at later date, it seems clear it is no longer Full. Is this second Smart Backup Incremental or Differential? Seems to be Incremental, requiring individual manual restores of each one. However, each one grows even larger than the previous, which does not seem right. The new files are named like arc_31101223395a1423. A date would be helpful, as it seems one has to look inside each one to determine file dates, to establish order of Restore. I guess I was thinking one click (like on the directory name) ought to automatically restore everything in it... Isn't that the only purpose? Computers could do that date examination and sequencing.

3. If this second backup in one directory (following a previous Smart Backup) is expressly selected as Differential (instead of Smart), will one Restore click then automatically restore all?

Thanks for any clue.

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member