"Homepage" - AdAware False Positive or Real Threat?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Dazed_and_Confused, Jul 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    A week or so ago AdAware flagged the following item as a vunerability. The vendor is WINDOWS. Does anyone know if this is this a false positive? I've had it quarantined and have not seen any system problems.

    Vendor:Windows
    Category:Vulnerability
    Object Type:RegData
    Size:-
    Location:Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel "Homepage" ()
    Last Activity:7/3/2004
    Risk LevelLow
    Comment:Windows
    Description:No Detail Information Available.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    66,860
    Location:
    Texas

    Hi Daisey!

    This hasn't come up in my Ad-aware. Did you try their forums?


    http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/
     
  3. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    No, but I will. I thought I would try my favorite, and the best forum, first! :D
     
  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    It has on mine, and it is on my ignore list. ;)

    It showed up after i checked off some settings in the IE Tweaks options in Spybot.

    IMHO, nothing to worry about.


    snowbound
     
  5. Dazed_and_Confused

    Dazed_and_Confused Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks a bunch, Snowy. :D I am using S&D too, and it's probably the same issue here. I guess I need to take it out of quarintine and put it on my ignore list.
     
  6. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    If u want to be sure Daisey, just look in your Spybot>Tools>IE Tweaks and see if u have Lock IE start page or Lock IE Control Panel checked.

    If u do, like me, this is what is causing it.

    U can test it by unchecking them and doing another scan with Ad-aware and that vulnerability shouldn't show up.


    snowbound
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.