Home Power Circuit Network

Discussion in 'hardware' started by Longboard, Jun 15, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I'm about to move home from a house with a purpose built copper LAN, router and switch to a house with no built in network infrastructure.
    Dont want wireless.
    Have 4 desktops, 2 laptops (That might require wireless access), NAS device and printer to set-up.

    re this note:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=242373

    I've been reading around the home circuit network tools and there seems to be consensus that, despite being quite expensive :( , this is a real and good option.

    Anyone have any experience/recommendation for HW for home power networking??
    Any issues??
    Thx.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  3. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Due to wall issues, direct wireless connectivity for my youngest son's room was prone to drop LAN connectivity.

    I switched his main connection to a pair of Netgear HDX-101's linking to the primary home LAN a couple of years ago. On his side I have a wireless access point/switch for both hard wire and wireless access. Pretty seamless, no issues in a couple of years, problem free 120+ Mbps connectivity over that time. Only issue that I've seen is the somewhat higher initial cost that you note.

    Blue
     
  4. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks guys, interesting thread at radified Brian.
    Looks like I'm not alone regarding 'options'
    I get different opinions re the home power circuit option:
    "It's great" vs "its the last option if there's no cable and wireless wont work"
    Decisions decisions...having built the current house from scratch as future proof as possible, am now making a move to a technologically 'bare' house
    :ouch: :ouch:
    Lots of short term inconveniences, having been so well served by current set-up and expecting to be here for a long stay.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  5. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Worked well for me a few years ago, 3 story old farmhouse..old wiring. I ran a pair and they worked well. I added a 3rd and occasionally they'd need a "unplug/plug back in" to get going again. Early version, they have matured with firmware updates since then.

    For me, online gaming was annoying with wireless, so tried these...and my connection was as steady as if I ran ethernet cable.
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ya
    like the idea of just being able to 'add' any rooms as required: and prolly for short term: 1-2 years while planning renos LOL - again- :gack:
     
  7. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'll be interested to hear about its performance.

    I live in a house where cables are "impossible to do" so we have Wireless G. It covers the whole house and about 15 metres beyond the front door. It's fine. I gather it will take a hacker several years to penetrate my WPA2 with AES and TKIP.

    I'm waiting until next year to convert to Wireless N, after the standard has been finalized. N has 2 to 3 times the range and transfer speed of G.
     
  8. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    We used an early Netgear powerline setup about 3 yrs ago, for an area of the house that was too difficult to run ethernet cables. Worked like a charm.

    HomePlug technical specs and info at HomePlug Powerline Alliance Interesting variety of new products mentioned in the news & events / press release section.

    Logitech has a "video security system" that uses powerline connections, "no network required".

    More info here, too: http://www.wilife.com/ -- there are some interesting user-submitted video clips on the "customer stories" page.
     
  9. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Nice; thx.
     
  10. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Longboard I'm using Netgear HDX101's also, HD 200Mps and devolo's which come with usb, ethernet and wifi. Both have AES encryption. Works a treat.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Meriadoc,

    If you get a chance I'd be interested in the following test. How many seconds does it take to transfer a 1 GB .vob file (from a DVD) from computer A to computer B over powerline?
     
  12. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Meriadoc
    You mean you are mixing products or using 'parallel' network ?
     
  13. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi Brian, I would be willing to do a test later on in the day for you. Would a test from a NAS using ethernet suffice?..perhaps I'll do a few tests (ethernet, wireless) and lay out the variables.

    Longboard, no cannot mix the different plugs.
     
  14. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Meriadoc,

    I'm interested in all the variables.

    I have Wireless G and it transfers a large file at around 1 MB/second between two computers at opposite ends of the house. Too slow if you want to transfer large files on a frequent basis. With 100 mbps cabled network I get 10 MB/second. For the test, the cables are lying on the floor as my house isn't cabled.
     
  15. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
    More homeplug products listed here: Intellon

    Also be sure to check their section Press Room > Articles for other links, e.g. to this TechRadar article.

    Edit: another info source: HomeGridForum
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2009
  16. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Hi Brian, I suppose personally I wouldn't mind that sort of transfer as I don't do a lot of it - I may transfer small files or perhaps stream a film or listen to music stored on a NAS or another computer but nothing big time.

    I did a test with a Western Digital MyWorld Book 1Tb NAS and copied a 0.99Gb vob file to a computer running XP Pro 300m away in an out building on the same phase/circuit of the house. The plugs were devolos (£75) with one of them having a wireless aerial but I did not use wireless just plugged in both ends with ethernet. Incidentally having a wireless extender on a plug obviously is very handy as I can wonder off a further 40-50 feet.

    I haven't thought of a way of measuring the speed (?) I've read that you only get a maximum throughput over a power supply with these plugs but, the time it took was 10min 45 secs. This seems slow for an advertised 85mps transmission rate so I'm gonna have another look and test the Netgears at 200mps.

    I suppose the advantage lays in being plug n play with little set up. No need for cables, no extra expense than the plugs. Every power socket becomes a connection with no problems with wireless.
     
  17. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I'd be pleased with that. 1.5 MB/sec over a 300 metre distance. The test with your Netgear will be interesting.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Is the speed much faster over a shorter distance? Say, the next room?
     
  19. axial

    axial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    477
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.