Home 2009 scheduling problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Disgruntled, Jul 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Disgruntled

    Disgruntled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Acronis True Image Home 9, build 9646

    I have been using Genie Backup and like it but it does not have the image backup ease of use Acronis Home 2009 does. I purchased and installed Home 2009 in April and made a boot CD and full image. I tested the restore with a new hard drive and it worked as described.

    I set up an incremental backup job to run every two days, save 4 incrementals before creating a new full, and to save two full backups. This seemed to be working until the destination drive filled up. I cleaned up the destination drive and can perform a manual backup but when I try and schedule it I get an error on the scheduling screen that states "Resultant Schedule: Incorrect repetition period". I did not remove any Acronis backups when cleaning the drive. I get the error for any scheduling I try and set up except the "Periodically" choice.

    The summary screen for the schedule I have is:

    Operations

    Number of operations: 2

    1. Creating partition image
    Hard disk: 1
    Drive Letter C:
    File system NTFS
    Volume Label:
    Size: 694.5 GB

    2. Saving partition structure
    Hard disk: 1

    Scheduling: At 12:15 PM every 2 days

    The Tasks and event log calendar does not show any scheduled backups.

    So my questions are:
    What is wrong with the existing schedule to cause this problem?

    Why does Acronis permit the backup job to be saved if there is an error?

    Wouldn't it be helpful if the product pointed you to the scheduling issue if indeed there is one?

    I tried creating a new backup job but I have the same issue with the schedule. Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    You can ignore the Incorrect repetition period message. That was a bug.

    Some of those problems were fixed in the later builds. You may want to try one (9,709 or 9,796) and see if it helps.

    If your current build works okay to backup and restore images, make sure to have a current image before you update TI in case the newer build causes more problems and you need to revert.
     
  3. Disgruntled

    Disgruntled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks, but I still don't understand why the task I've scheduled does not appear on the scheduling calendar. The job does not run unless I run it manually. I downloaded the update but I'm somewhat concerned about installing it based on many of the things I've read.
     
  4. Bobo_

    Bobo_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I have TI 2009 build 12.0.0.9646 and am having the same problem.

    In "Resultant Schedule:" I get "Error: Incorrect repetition period."
    The task does not show in the task calendar and does not run.
    I also have "If missed, run the task on startup" checked - it does not run on startup either.
     
  5. jehosophat

    jehosophat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    UK
    I agree with MudCrab that you should try a newer release. I also suggest that you try ATI 2009 build 9709 or 9796.
    Build 9709 is working for me.

    Avoid builds 9770, 9788, 9791. Thankfully you probably wont be able to get these 3 awful builds.
     
  6. Bobo_

    Bobo_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    I did this: http://kb.acronis.com/content/1518

    The tasks now show in the calendar. We shall see if they run as scheduled.

    "Error: Incorrect repetition period" is still present.

    Thanks to all who have posted suggestions.

    I'll repost the results after August 1st when the first task is supposed to run.

    Bobo
     
  7. Disgruntled

    Disgruntled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    edit: I do want to thank the people that responded to my question. It's better than ATI tech support. If I'm going to rely on a backup product I prefer it to be a proven and tested one and not a hodgepodge of mistakes such as the three builds posted by jehosophat. Protecting the data on my computers is not a grab bag of what may or may not work.

    So, field testing by the saps that use this software has shown that some of the final builds might work. Impressive, however I prefer not to be one.

    You may want to use your data and computer as a test bed for this once good product but I have solved my problem a different way. I did a more thorough read of the Genie Backup Manager documentation and purchased it for my PC's. I already had it running on one of them and bought it for the other for $52 when I could have bought ATI for $8.95 on newegg. I'll transfer my licensed copy of ATI to a PC that I can afford to lose if (when) ATI screws it up or doesn't do it's job. But first I'll make an image with the trial version of GBM.

    Don't forget to try the tech support at ATI. It took two full months for me to get a reply to a question I submitted. Makes one feel kinda special, don't ya think? The problem, of course, was not resolved by ATI and the excuse that there was a problem with their mail server was quite believable.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.