Hiw to use two AV

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    If I were to install another AV in addition to BD how would I handle them so they would not conflict?

    I suppose I could disable, through Win Patrol the one I did not want to remain active at any particular time. Is this the best way?

    I might try NOD32, or install a free one like Avast.

    Thanks,
    Jerry
     
  2. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    In my experience, having 2 AV's isn't a big deal. Make sure you only have 1 active monitor running though or they will most likely fight each other.

    Make 1 your active monitor and the other a backup scanner.
     
  3. JerryM

    JerryM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Posts:
    4,221
    What are the mechanics of doing that? I would like the option of selecting either as the active monitor.

    Thanks, Jerry
     
  4. Capp

    Capp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,125
    Location:
    United States
    Most AV's have the option to "Disable Active Monitor" through the program interface or by right-clicking the icon in the system tray.
     
  5. richrf

    richrf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Posts:
    1,907
    Hi JerryM,

    When you install NOD32, for example, you have an option for a Custom Install. During the custom install, you will be asked whether you want to active the three real-time scan monitors that are included with NOD32 (AMON, DMON, and IMON). Just answer no to all of these questions. The NOD32 kernal is still installed at startup, but none of the real-time scanners will be active. You can turn them on or off from the Control Center.

    Rich
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Well you cant do custom install for all AVs.

    Anyhow, If you want to run two AV's - please disable the email scanner and real time monitor of either one AV.

    Stopping Mail scan may require you to wade through the options a bit though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.