HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    902
    Location:
    UK
    most definitely +1, my first thoughts on his idea is it would slow down the system and potentially be a FP nightmare.
     
  2. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,217
    I just found the anti-malware component in HMP.A blocking a different NirSoft application, IPNetInfo.

    Malware found:
    App/NirSoft-Gen
    C:\Program Files\NirSoft\IPNetInfo\ipnetinfo.exe
    Mitigation MalwareBlocked
    Timestamp 2019-11-20T23:32:51

    Platform 10.0.18363/x64 v791 06_2d
    Application C:\Program Files\NirSoft\IPNetInfo\ipnetinfo.exe
    Created 2015-11-28T19:25:18
    Modified 2019-02-17T15:59:24
    Description App/NirSoft-Gen

    SHA256:
    5be769815c639b75587568a608ab16cbc23e3a0f953d2bc1bcd7e83172e77688​

    And no way to exclude?
     
  3. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,089
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    To my knowledge, in HMP.A 3.7.11.791, the only way to prevent the "MalwareBlocked" mitigation, is to temporarily disable HMP.A's Anti-Malware component.
    After using IPNetInfo, you can re-enable HMP.A's Anti-Malware component.
     
  4. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Can we expect a Black Friday license offering for HitmanPro.alert?
     
  5. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    803
  6. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Yes there is:
    Buy HitmanPro or HitmanPro.Alert with 50% discount until the 2nd of December.
    Visit hitmanpro.com choose your product and enter the Coupon code: HMPemail50
     
  7. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    We have whitelisted both detections, in version 8xx there will be an option to locally whitelist for Anti-Malware alerts.
     
  8. Sand

    Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    hmp.png

    I experienced an exception, between GIMP 2.10.14 and HitmanPro.Alert 791, under some circumstances GIMP is added by default to mitigated applications, in order to load the program, Dynamic Heap Spray need to be unticked, are you able to reproduce on your side such behavior, and what could be the cause?

    Regards.
     
  9. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,293
    Location:
    USA
    Just purchased HMP.A 3 PCs for 3 Years. Didn't have to use the coupon code to get the 50% discount.
    I won't activate this license until my existing license expires some months down the road. :)
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,189
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You could have used the discount code and still kept the key until it's required. Two years ago I bought two keys with the discount and in the next few weeks I'll be activating my second key.
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,293
    Location:
    USA
    That's what I am doing, keeping the key (not activating it) until its needed. The discount code doesn't have anything to do with activation. And I did use the discount code, btw, but realized that it wasn't needed when the price did not change upon entering the code.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,189
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hmm, that doesn't sound right. You should have got the 50% discount.
     
  13. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,293
    Location:
    USA
    I got the 50% discount, Krusty. The discount is built into the purchase page while the discount is in effect.
    If you go there, you'll see. Which is why I am saying you don't need the coupon code.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,189
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Ah, now I get it. Sorry Page42, just a little slower than normal today... Must be the heat. ;)
     
  15. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,293
    Location:
    USA
    S'all good, Krusty. :)
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, that's the way to do it. It would be nice though, if they would make it possible to combine the remaining time of the current license with the new license.
     
  17. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    418
    It's a really, really good deal. I just got a 3-year license for 3 PCs (9 total years of HMP.A protection) for only 3x the price of a 1-year, 1-PC license. Thank you Sophos/SurfRight. :thumb:
     
  18. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    189
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Hi,

    GIMP team is working on a solution, they have a bug in their code that triggers this, for now keeping it unticked is the only solution.
     
  19. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Yes, I couldn't pass up the deal on HitmanPro myself. Only comes once a year so strike while the iron is hot.
     
  20. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
  21. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    @ronny T Thank you for your reply, I just ordered a license
     
  22. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    764
    Location:
    USA
    Just got an alert from HMPA 3.7.1 build 791, that an HMPA update will be installed on next reboot.

    Is there a change log for this update?
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,189
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep!
    #1637
     
  24. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    764
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks!!!

    Jeez, I wish they would post that info in the main thread. Not all of us are Beta users!
     
  25. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    538
    Location:
    Hengelo
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.