HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Good idea.
    Done!
    In case no one else already did, and in case Ronny, Erik or Mark didn't notice the reports in this thread.
     
  2. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
    Also offline...
     
  3. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
    I sent them a jpeg image showing OFFLINE.....
     
  4. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,233
    My "Cloud protection offline" issue has cleared.
     
  5. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    USA
    Same here! :thumb:
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Thanks. Same here, too.
     
  7. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
    Not offline anymore but if I want to scan the laptop its says ‘mislukt’.
     
  8. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    356
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Hi All,
    Cloud should be back up and running.
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,089
    Location:
    USA
    One solution is to download and install HitmanPro separately. Another thing you can try is changing DNS; I use Google DNS ( 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 ) and don't receive an error when starting a scan with Alert.
     
  10. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,233
    Thank you. Assuming this was resolved with a simple reboot, may I suggest server monitoring such as Dynatrace Appmon? :)
     
  11. Arjan van Beijnum

    Arjan van Beijnum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I'm Running HMP.A 3.7.8 build 750 on Win10 Pro x64 1803 build 17134.228

    Two recent issues that suddenly happened and were solved by uninstalling HMP.A:
    1. On my Desktop Computer when I try to open Hyper-V Manager it cannot connect the local machine anymore, because it encountered an error. In the Windows Application Event Log there is an error to start the application: vmcompute.exe
    2. On my Surface Pro Windows Hello was suddenly not working anymore due to HitmanPro Alert.

    I'm happy with the provided security, but I'm reluctant to reinstall HMP.A because of the instability. Any recommendations?
     
  12. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Hi Arjan,

    Did you find any "HitmanPro.Alert Events" details in Event Viewer for the two issues?

    With HMPA installed, it is easy to get alert details from Event Viewer.
    I don't know if the HitmanPro.Alert Events module is still in Event Viewer after HMPA is uninstalled.

    Alert details in Event Viewer may be helpful to find out what happened, and if changing HMPA settings might help, for instance, to exclude certain exe in HMPA.
     
  13. Arjan van Beijnum

    Arjan van Beijnum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Dear Stupendous Man,

    Thanks for your reply!

    I did not take a look at the alert details and they are not available anymore.
    HMP Support asked me if I had any black warnings and requested for technical details, but without any further explanation. And no more response for days after my request for more details...
    Till now I'm still reluctant to reinstall HMP.A because of the instability and lack of official support.

    In the previous builds a script seemed to be available as workaround for my first issue, but it was mentioned resolved in the newer builds.
    The second issue seems to be recently introduced and not recognized (yet) as an issue.

    BR Arjan
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2018
  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I think they meant the HMPA 'pop-up' warnings that you get when there's a HMPA alert.
    The technical details that are in those alerts, are the same as in the "HitmanPro.Alert Events" details in Event Viewer. (Those in Event Viewer are easier to copy.)
    I can imagine that is annoying.
    But I guess they may be waiting for you to offer the requested alert details.
    I understand, but it may be the only way to get the alert details that support needs to help.
    It's not that there is no official support, but I understand that it is annoying if you don't get the e-mail response you expect.

    With the alert details, support may be able to help.
    Also, in this thread, SurfRight/Sophos QA Engineer RonnyT may be able to help, or other members may be able to help.
    But without alert details, I'm afraid we can't do much more than suggest to exclude certain exe in HMPA (as I mentioned).
     
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    For those with the "Anti-Malware: Offline" issue , just reinstall HMPA, it fixes it (at least for me).
     
  16. Arjan van Beijnum

    Arjan van Beijnum Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2018
    Posts:
    11
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Dear Stupendous Man,

    I was also expecting they are referring to the HMPA 'pop-up' warnings and already replied that I didn't have them and requested what technical information they required beside the versions I already gave.
    And I will take a look at the ut alert details next time.
    What are your experiences with the official support and what are the experiences with the stability?
    In other words: Does it make sense for me to spent time on this product?
     
  17. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Wasn't the "Anti-Malware Offline", "Cloud Protection Offline" issue fixed at the time that several users reported it was fixed and RonnyT reported the cloud should be back up and running?
    Didn't it fix the issue for you?
    Or perhaps you were just in the process of uninstalling and reinstalling at that same time?
     
  18. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    In case there were no alerts, there is no alert information, and you can't offer any such alert information, of course. I'm not sure if support understood.
    I can understand that you uninstalled. But with HMPA uninstalled, it is even harder for support, or in this thread for SurfRight/Sophos QA Engineer RonnyT, or the developers Erik and Mark, to help find out what is the issue and to help find a solution.
    Next time, try to be patient, so that support, or RonnyT, or Erik, or Mark, or other users in this thread may be able to help.

    I never used e-mail support. Support in this thread, by RonnyT, Erik and Mark, is usually good.
    And usually, my experiences with HMPA stability is very good, on Windows 7. If have seen a few minor issues in the past, those were fixed by the developers. And I had to exclude a few programs from HMPA (MPC-HC, MPC-BE), as those can not be supported.
    I think with Windows XP, Windows Vista and Windows 10 there may be slightly more issues, according to the posts in this thread. Most of it was fixed, but I'm not sure if everything is fixed, by now.
    I think it's a great product. I think most users in this thread think the same.
    I would give it another try, and for the issues, ask help from SurfRight/Sophos QA Engineer RonnyT, in this thread.
     
  19. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    @RonnyT,
    @erikloman,
    @markloman,
    also reported to support@hitmanpro.com

    Today, on both my Windows 7 x64 systems, the HitmanPro.Alert service is not running.
    Rebooting the computer does not resolve the issue. I've tried several times.

    This is a major issue.
    I hope this can be fixed, soon.

    Is this a result of yesterday's "Cloud Protection Offline" issue?
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2018
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    Got it too on Win10, i guess it may be related. I had to start it manually.
     
  21. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Starting the HitmanPro.Alert service in Services helped, only for a moment. The service stopped running a few minutes later.
    Again, this is a major issue.
     
  22. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    991
    Confirmed (Win10 x64).
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    Confirmed on Win10 x64, it auto-stops.
     
  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,392
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    A reboot didn't start it. But a manual restart of the service seems to be working - so far. Also Win10 x64.
     
  25. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,303
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    For how long?
    Earlier, when I manually started the HitmanPro.Alert service, it ran for only a few minutes, perhaps 5 minutes, before it stopped again.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.