HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. askmark

    askmark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Posts:
    392
    Location:
    united kingdom
    I've not installed it yet, is this issue affecting all os versions - 7 thru to 10?
     
  2. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    I noticed something odd today, I have been using the 30 day trial, I really like this app it is going to be a keeper, I figured I was getting close to my trial end when I checked it says I still have a 1054 days left?

    Is this a bug?
     
  3. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    So, does HMP.A protection stop when HMP.A Service is disabled?
     
  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    it is pretty much disabled as you would expect
     
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    42,282
    Have a look at your own screenshot in post #5225 (bjm_, Apr 14, 2015)
    = Mitigations, Safe Browsing and Keystroke Encryption is disabled (+no window border, no flyout, ...)

    Regarding the category "Risk Reduction":
    CryptoGuard is still active after the service has been stopped, but no alerts are being displayed.
    I'm not sure about other Risk Reduction-features.
     
  6. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,104
    Location:
    .
    Yeah, had vague recollection ? was still active.
    And, no recollection re #5225.
    You remember me, better than I remember me.
    Thanks!
     
  7. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    I'm not actually sure what exactly happened, but I think my computer just had a BSOD. I booted the computer, then I saw it went into desktop, and then I went away to do something else, but when I came back, the computer was on the restart process. So, I presume that my computer had a BSOD with automatic restart.

    I currently use KIS and AppGuard along with HMP.A.


    Edit: I just witnessed a BSOD. It stated Bad_Pool_Caller. I uninstalled HMP.A in the mean time. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2017
  8. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,273
    Location:
    USA
    There is a problem with last two beta releases. Public release (v574) should be good.
     
  9. guest

    guest Guest

    i observed that people (me included) getting the BSOD are using Appguard. Would be nice to know if someone NOT using AG got a BSOD too.
     
  10. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Yep, I have Appguard and EIS. Ah Erik will figure it out, and if he needs something he knows where to come.
     
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    OK, now the scan tile says "failed" on the interface and before it would launch. I then had to completely reinstall HMP because for some reason it would load and continue to the setup window instead of just scanning. Is it because Alert detects the standalone scanner? What if I get zapped with something and can't scan from the Alert screen? :'(
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,436
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Me too. I do have both EAM and AppGuard (see primary machine in signature). Win 10 Pro x64 v1607 14393.693.

    WhoCrashed reports as follows:
    On Thu 2017/01/19 3:05:09 PM GMT your computer crashed
    crash dump file: C:\windows\Minidump\011917-6937-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x14A6F0)
    Bugcheck code: 0xC2 (0x7, 0x0, 0x0, 0xFFFF9E8FDCE9D97:cool:
    Error: BAD_POOL_CALLER
    file path: C:\windows\system32\ntoskrnl.exe
    product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    company: Microsoft Corporation
    description: NT Kernel & System
    Bug check description: This indicates that the current thread is making a bad pool request.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver that cannot be identified at this time. (My bolding).

    Reverted to pre-installation image. Curiously, there was no crash on initial reboot required after installation.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  13. guest

    guest Guest

  14. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I suppose the Bugcheck code wasn't supposed to say 'cool'. ;)
    It's BBcode interpreting 8) as :cool:.

    To avoid text elements unintentionally being interpreted as BBcode,
    you can place the regarding text section between [PLAIN][/PLAIN]
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,436
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If it is AppGuard I hope Erik & Mark can sort it out because I definitely like to run both HMPA and AppGuard. I have reverted to HMPA build 574.
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,436
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :) I only noticed that after I posted. Thanks for the tip.
     
  17. tonino

    tonino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    Posts:
    62
    Location:
    somewhere
    hi everyone.
    I noticed something strange with KEYSTROKE ENCRYPTION enabled:
    In the past when this option was enabled i could not write nothing on chrome browser like passwords or even in google search engine, showing me something about protection against keyloggers. To write something i had to disable keystroke encryption.
    I uninstall HMP.A, delete folders, registry ecc., reboot the machine, install Hitman pro and HMP.A. with KEYSTROKE ENCRYPTION enabled and this issue disappeared, now i can write without warnings.
    Maybe is nothing, but i'm not an expert!
    574 stable version

    Thanx in advance
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2017
  18. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    a very good summary :thumb:
     
  19. guest

    guest Guest

    no EIS here, i dont like AVs. :D
     
  20. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    207
    Just got the BSOD myself, no Appguard, just Avira & HMPA (though had EAM until yesterday with no BSODs).
     
  21. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
    ok, build? (+ OS)
    In the meantime, stay away from 578/579 until Surfright does not fix these issues.
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,929
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  23. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    The only thing is the malware that detects various environments usually does it in 2-4 different ways.
     
  24. Novastar 3d

    Novastar 3d Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Posts:
    65
    I just got a bluescreen when uninstalling .574 which I thought was latest build in order to install the beta most recently posted. On windows 8.1 it said the driver unloaded without cancelling pending operations.
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,436
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Indeed I am not using EIS, but I am using EAM. Sure hope the Loman's are looking into this.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.